Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was hardly a coconut lovers dream pie. The coconut was lost in the chocolate and cream. It did not set after being in the fridge for 7 hours. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
My guests liked this..the coconut pudding however is NOT noticable at all. The chocolate overpowers. The coconut (toasted) on top gave it a hint..but, the pudding is not very sweet either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barneybbarbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
So far I've only tried making the puddings and they are delicious. I thought the flavors were perfectly sweet, if not overly sweet and had a lot of coconut flavor. I can still remember the taste of Ted's pie that I had a few weeks ago on my last trip to Oahu and this is a good interpretation but not as perfectly balanced in sweetness and richness as Ted's. I will definitely make the whole pie soon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
So good- the haupia alone was amazing. I used mostly coconut milk for the liquid. I used 1/2 milk, 1/2 coconut milk instead of the 1 cup milk, plus mixed my cornstarch in with 1/2 water and 1/2 coconut milk. It really increased the coconut flavor! I'd say this pie does need to be refrigerated for more than an hour before serving, and isn't a great choice for a potluck, as it gets pretty soft while it sits out (at least, mine did). But, every last bit was scraped out of the pan! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This pie was divine. Made it as recipe stated just added 1/2 tsp coconut extract to white filling. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayceeP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I was so excited to make this because it sounded so good and I had all the ingredients. I found it to be a bit too sweet - maybe from too much chocolate in the top layer? I think the next time I make this I will use an Oreo crust lined with banana slices, and leave out the chocolate (I know, it sounds crazy - no chocolate?!?!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
OMG This pie is amazing. If anyone really knows what this pie is supposed to taste like and knows Ted's Bakery, you have to try this recipe out. It's super easy & all my Hawaii friends loved it! I used a vegetable peeler and put Trader Joe's dark chocolate shavings with organic coconut flakes that I toasted myself (about 5 or more minutes in oven on 350 deg) & the chocolate & coconut mixed a bit which some said tasted like a candy topping. YOU GOTTA TRY THIS! Out of the world :D!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
VERY rich, VERY sweet, and VERY delicious! Tip: Serve this in SMALL slices! A normal piece may be too much for some. It's very creamy, like a rich chocolate sundae. I made this exactly as written, and wouldn't change a thing. I think it is probably better as written, with a pastry shell, rather than a graham cracker crust. The pastry is a good counterpoint to all that sweetness. I have never had this type of pie before, so I had nothing to compare it too, but it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I thought this recipe was ok, but what the heck is 7/8 of a cup?! I added what I thought for the chips, and it turned out to be WAY too many. I think that's a mistake. The coconut part was barely flavored coconut, and the chocolate part was too sweet. If I make it again, I'm making some big changes. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AddiesMom6

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Very good! My family are coconut freaks... I debating on adding coconut to white layer after reading the reviews and did it (1/2 cup). Tastes great and texture is still fine with the coconut in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States