Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Fabulous!!! i decreased the milk by half and added coconut rum and decreased sugar to half also...what a huge success! also, i used milk instead of water with the cornstarch for a creamier texture..divine! Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This is soooo good! I went to make the pie, and realized that I only had half of the needed chocolate chips. So I used 1/4 of the filling and mixed the melted chocolate chips in. I used half of the coconut pudding in the bottom layer, then I put a layer of the chocolate mixture on top and finally, topped it all off with another layer of coconut pudding. When it was set, it looked absolutely amazing with the thin ribbon of chocolate running through it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I don't know what happened -- my top layer ended up being very rubbery. The chocolate layer is delicious and smooth, but I've just been peeling off the top layer and eating the chocolate part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by proudarmywife
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was good, only next time I will cut back on the semi-sweet chocolate chips or maybe use milk chocolate. It was too rich for me, and my guests also agreed. Other than that it was good, I would have liked more of the haupia taste though. I also just topped with cool whip and piped it onto the pie and finished with toasted coconut flakes (put coconut flakes in oven for 5 minutes at 350 keep a close eye though it burns quickly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudarmywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kahului, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
very nice, everyone liked it. I changed it to white chocolate since regular chocolate gives me migraines, I also added flaked coconut to the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I LOVE coconut, so, I tried this recipe... Served a piece to my husband (He didn't know what I was making.) His eyes got big and he said, THIS TASTES LIKE HAUPIA - Just like from home!! Yup. He was born and raised in Hawaii, So, taste approved from a Hawaiian native. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
it did need more coconut for my taste (and even more chocolate), but this is the second-easiest pie i make and it's worth soooo much more than that! i made it 2 times in the first week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I made this pie for a holiday potluck. I followed the recipe exactly & it turned out perfect. It was delicious & everyone who tried it loved it. I did use chopped nuts on the top rather than coconut or chocolate. I read all the reviews & some people had a problem with getting the filling to set. That was not an issue as I cooked the filling for a full 3 minutes after it came to a boil. Shorting that process will result in a runnier filling. I have had pie like this in Hawaii & I felt this recipe was very close to the ones there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Loved this pie! I loved the texture of the chocolate and coconut filling. Didn't even last an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Florez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is really good! Its light and airy, great for a sweet tooth but not too sweet. I might use a little less chocolate next time so the coconut stands out more because i'm a coconut fan, but it was great as is. I might even throw some banana on top, because for some reason I was craving banana with this! LOL. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States