Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by yadira
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
thanks for the recipe i just made a little change on mine becuase i dint have the coconut milk so i use the coconut flavor to the milk other then that i made it excatly and it came out delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Delicious! Based upon input from people that it didn't taste enough like coconut, I opted for milk chocolate instead of semisweet. The darker chocolate can overpower the subtleness of coconut. So, the coconut flavor is very strong now. What else I would do different is cut the sugar by at least 1/4 to 1/3. For me, personally, it's too sweet. This is going to look great with large shredded toasted coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Sooo ono (delicious)! I keep forgetting to try it with the haupia on the bottom! I think it'd taste better AND look better. This pie is a winnah (winner)! I'm from HI too and this stuff is legit. One of my HI friends said taste "mo bettah" then Teds. I used homemade pie crust. I also used a bit less chocolate chips and made less chocolate haupia because the chocolate is strong enough. (I used Ghiradelli chocolate.) Like other reviewers, I would also make this way in advance and let it stiffen up for AT LEAST 4 hrs. Not only does it make it look nicer, but it also tastes better when the haupia is the right jello-esque consistency. I sprinkled some chocolate chips on the top (cause I didnt have shavings) which was delicious and pretty! Oh - just use your handmixer to whip the heavy cream... so easy! People were fighting for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Just tried this recipe for the first time last night. The only chocolate haupia pie I've ever had was from Ted's Bakery. I'm not sure how I feel about it. Not sure if I kept it on the stove for too long but the haupia is too wobbly (if thats a word). I set 1 for a few hours and didn't like the consistency. The other one I left over night and I like it better but the ratio of chocolate haupia to haupia wasn't even. So I'm making another batch right now with more haupia (cause thats what I like) and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the consistency is better. I don't want to have to fly to Hawaii every time I have a craving for this wonderful treat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I didn't taste any coconut in this pie other than the toasted coconut I put on top. I'm not sure if I didn't get the right coconut milk or what it was. Although the chocolate was good. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
So delicious! I use a chocolate cookie crust when I make this pie. One of my friends at work is from Hawaii and told me about Haupia pie. I am so glad he did. My neighbor ate a piece and absolutely loved it. He asked me to make one for him. Chocolate and coconut cream topped off with whipped cream in a chocolate cookie crust! Need I say more? Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Didn't make it with chocolate, but was perfect. Just like the kind they have from Teddy's bakery in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Just like Ted's Bakery in Hawaii... delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Harris-McCay

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is very good, but I found that the pie was a little too thick for my taste. It's just a different type of pie. I enjoyed it, and it was very fast to make, however I am used to the good old fashioned chocolate cream pie. I will probably stick to that, but this was still very fun and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Fabulous!!! i decreased the milk by half and added coconut rum and decreased sugar to half also...what a huge success! also, i used milk instead of water with the cornstarch for a creamier texture..divine! Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States