Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was good but the chocolate part wasn't chocolately enough to be close to the Ted's Bakery version on Oahu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acarp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made this pie and the recipe is perfect just the way it is. The coconut to chocolate ratio is perfectly balanced. The recipe says to melt the chocolate chips first, but all you have to do is pour the hot haupia over the chocolate chips and stir until they're melted. I am making this for Thanksgiving tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
fan-freakn-tastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
As written, it needs more coconut flavoring for my liking. I adjusted the recipe as such: used a large pre-made graham crust (which I baked at 350 for 5 mins. prior to filling); I added 2 tsp coconut extract and 1 C. flaked coconut to pudding prior to separating; reduced sugar to 3/4 C and reduced chips to 1 C.; I substituted a scant 1/4 C. confectioners sugar for the white sugar in the whipping cream; allowed both layers of pudding to cool before filling - then topped with whipped cream; allowed 4 hours for pie to set in fridge; topped it w/toasted coconut and slivered almonds - it was a hit with our guests this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My husband and I fell in love with Ted's Bakery Haupia Pie so I was excited to find this equally yummy recipe! Changes I made: used only 2 tbsp sugar to mix with the coconut milk (I don't have much of a sweet tooth), used unsweetened almond milk in place of dairy milk (lactose intolerant), used pre-made graham cracker crust, and I didn't bother adding the whipped cream part at the end. I think it would taste just as delicious if nothing was changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was terrific! I used Oreo cookie crust and cool whip as the topping. I also shaved and toasted some fresh coconut and sprinkled it on top, it was delicious. I loved how easy this was to make. I am giving it 4 stars because I find it was missing coconut flavor and was really sweet. Next time I will use less sugar, I will add some shredded coconut to my Oreo crumb crust and use more coconut milk and less regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by yadira
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
thanks for the recipe i just made a little change on mine becuase i dint have the coconut milk so i use the coconut flavor to the milk other then that i made it excatly and it came out delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Delicious! Based upon input from people that it didn't taste enough like coconut, I opted for milk chocolate instead of semisweet. The darker chocolate can overpower the subtleness of coconut. So, the coconut flavor is very strong now. What else I would do different is cut the sugar by at least 1/4 to 1/3. For me, personally, it's too sweet. This is going to look great with large shredded toasted coconut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Sooo ono (delicious)! I keep forgetting to try it with the haupia on the bottom! I think it'd taste better AND look better. This pie is a winnah (winner)! I'm from HI too and this stuff is legit. One of my HI friends said taste "mo bettah" then Teds. I used homemade pie crust. I also used a bit less chocolate chips and made less chocolate haupia because the chocolate is strong enough. (I used Ghiradelli chocolate.) Like other reviewers, I would also make this way in advance and let it stiffen up for AT LEAST 4 hrs. Not only does it make it look nicer, but it also tastes better when the haupia is the right jello-esque consistency. I sprinkled some chocolate chips on the top (cause I didnt have shavings) which was delicious and pretty! Oh - just use your handmixer to whip the heavy cream... so easy! People were fighting for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Just tried this recipe for the first time last night. The only chocolate haupia pie I've ever had was from Ted's Bakery. I'm not sure how I feel about it. Not sure if I kept it on the stove for too long but the haupia is too wobbly (if thats a word). I set 1 for a few hours and didn't like the consistency. The other one I left over night and I like it better but the ratio of chocolate haupia to haupia wasn't even. So I'm making another batch right now with more haupia (cause thats what I like) and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the consistency is better. I don't want to have to fly to Hawaii every time I have a craving for this wonderful treat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States