Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was really delicious and easy. My only improvement will be to add some shredded coconut to the white layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKRUM421

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I would give this 4 1/2 stars. This was pretty good. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 X 13 for a luau party. I also made a graham cracker crust, and toasted a bag of coconut to put on top. I think this is a must. Also, to lighten it up I used cool whip instead of heavy whipping cream. The other party goers seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This pie was easy to make, but I must admit that I am a little disappointed. I should have added some shredded coconut or coconut extract to the white layer. The flavor was a bit too mild for my taste. On the good side, my company absolutely adored it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This pie is amazing. I used an oreo crust, and didn't bother with making whipped cream. I just used Reddi Whip and added it right before eating. I also added a tsp of coconut extract and a small handfull of coconut flakes to the plain coconut pudding. It was pretty easy to make, and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This pie is heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I fell off my diet for this and it was worth it! Yes, maybe the haupia was a bit in the background, but taken all together the flavors were marvelous. So satisfying. Please may I have some more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This was absolutely delicious! Very rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaden Ravenscraft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Ponder, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I was really excited to try this pie based on the great reviews. However, I was a little disappointed. It was really easy to make, and the layer with the chocolate was good, but the white layer was really overpowered with all the cornstarch, I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This pie is wonderful!! Next time I will try using less chocolate though, I think it overpowered the delicate haupia flavor of the white layer. My other suggestion would be to double this recipe and make 2 pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAHENR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was a hit! When I first tasted the white coconut milk mixture, I thought it would be too light; however, the rich chocolate part of the filling adds great depth. I used a store-bought oreo cookie crust and took the suggestion to layer the coconut, then chocolate, then whipped crea for the layered look. I also mixed in shredded coconut because I like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States