Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I've made this 3 times and should stick to making this a deep dish crust as it truly needs the deep dish to make it look beautiful with the separate layers. This will be a family classic now. Thanks for making me look like a slaved over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
this was okay the first night, but got better the following night, but I think I may have done sone something wrong the chocolate flavor over powered the coconut. I'm going try and make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This pie is great! I added 1/2 teaspoon of coconut extract for a stronger flavor and some shredded coconut for a different texture to the non-chocolate filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This recipe turns out as beautiful as the picture. I accidentally bought a can of Jamaican coconut "water with pulp", but figured it would work fine -- it did. A gorgeous presentation, and very, very good to eat! I put toasted coconut and chocolate shavings on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was way easier to make than I thought it would be and it turned out SO incredibly yummy! After the pie initially chilled for about an hour, I pressed shredded coconut all over the top of it, spooned on the whipped cream and then topped with lots of toasted coconut and chocolate chips. Not only did it taste phenomenal, it turned out beautifully! This is definitely going into my "hall of fame" recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
really good recipe. Different than any choc. pie I have ever had, but the coconut flavor could have been stronger and it would have been 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Wonderful! This pie is great because none of the flavors are individually overpowering, but they come together very nicely. Topped with toasted coconut and chopped chocolate, the presentation is beautiful with very little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
this is a classic hawaiian dessert and a great recipe. i am from hawaii and have had countless chocolate haupia pies, the most famous are from ted's bakery, but thought this tasted even better. my husband doesn't like whipped cream, so i actually made it without that and it was still very good. the only thing was after being in the fridge for a few days, the coconut top started to brown on the edges, but i cut it off and it tasted as good as ever. do be careful how much chocolate you use, i didn't think the recipe called for enough so i added 1/4c more and the chocolate flavor was very strong. this pie should have a very light and creamy flavor. i also used a premade graham cracker crust and that turned out very well, it didn't compete with the pie's flavors, but really enhanced it. i noticed others complained about the gelatinous texture of the coconut pudding - FYI, haupia is SUPPOSED to look like that, so have no fear. haupia is a coconut dessert that is often called pudding but thick enough to cut into squares, almost like jello. i know the recipe says to refrigerate for an hour but i would chill in the fridge for at least 4. i say this because when i sampled a piece of pie after one hour, i noticed the texture of the haupia was slightly lumpy and still a little warm. after a few hours in the fridge, the haupia and chocolate pudding was smooth in consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This was really delicious and easy. My only improvement will be to add some shredded coconut to the white layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKRUM421

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I would give this 4 1/2 stars. This was pretty good. I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9 X 13 for a luau party. I also made a graham cracker crust, and toasted a bag of coconut to put on top. I think this is a must. Also, to lighten it up I used cool whip instead of heavy whipping cream. The other party goers seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States