Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I have been exposed to something new and I am in Love! This pie is an awesome summer day treeat. It is a very mild cocount flavor. I would almost like to make the pie all chocolate mix, instead of layering it. It's yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobertSRQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I really loved this recipe. It has a wonderfully pleasantly mild taste. The only thing I did wrong was to overcook my pie crust (reason for the 4 stars otherwise, I'd give it a 5 star. No fault of the submitter). I made this around Thanksgiving and I was working on a million things at a time and forgot to check the pie crust. Next time I may try this recipe with a graham cracker crust. I definitely will make again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was really different in texture than any pie filling I've made. I knew that from reading the stuff from the submitter but wanted to give it a whirl anyway. It wasn't a bummer and it didn't taste bad, just not really to our liking. FYI - I did add coconut extract & used milk chocolate chips like other users and still found the coconut layer to be kind of bland and the chocolate to be over powering. The best part of the pie to me was what I garnished it with - toasted coconut flakes and toasted macadamia nuts. Otherwise, I am not making it again but if you are brave and like a gelatin type of texture, you should go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stershic

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I was excited to make this pie but was disapointed with the results. I followed the recipe exactly. The corn starch gave the pie a thick texture, particularly in the white layer and it was just too overpowering - not creamy like I was expecting. I had printed the recipe but promptly threw it out after all my children and my husband gave negative reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe!!! I made it for my Hawaiian father-in-law and he was very impressed. Very easy to make. I felt like a professional. I added almond extract to the whipped topping and it tasted amazing...Thank you so much for this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I've made this 3 times and should stick to making this a deep dish crust as it truly needs the deep dish to make it look beautiful with the separate layers. This will be a family classic now. Thanks for making me look like a slaved over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
this was okay the first night, but got better the following night, but I think I may have done sone something wrong the chocolate flavor over powered the coconut. I'm going try and make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This pie is great! I added 1/2 teaspoon of coconut extract for a stronger flavor and some shredded coconut for a different texture to the non-chocolate filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This recipe turns out as beautiful as the picture. I accidentally bought a can of Jamaican coconut "water with pulp", but figured it would work fine -- it did. A gorgeous presentation, and very, very good to eat! I put toasted coconut and chocolate shavings on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was way easier to make than I thought it would be and it turned out SO incredibly yummy! After the pie initially chilled for about an hour, I pressed shredded coconut all over the top of it, spooned on the whipped cream and then topped with lots of toasted coconut and chocolate chips. Not only did it taste phenomenal, it turned out beautifully! This is definitely going into my "hall of fame" recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States