Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I was able to make 2 pies with this recipe. I did 1 layering coconut pudding on bottom and the other pie with the chocolate pudding on the bottom. These were really good pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim1430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
If I could give this more than 5 stars I definately would. I was looking for a great chocolate pie then I came across this and made it being that I love coconut too. The only thing I did different was to toast some coconut for the top along with some hershey bar shavings on top also.The filling did turn out to be enough for two pies which I gave one to my neighbor. I wish I wouldn't of. If I would of known how good this was I would of ate them both. This is now my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this with a coconut crust (by pressing sweetened coconut and butter into the bottom pie plate and baking it for 15 mins and cooling it prior to making the filling) I also added some coconut and vanilla extract to the heavy cream to make it more coconutty! It was a big BIG hit at my christmas party 2 people told me it was the best pie they had ever eaten. MY only complaint is that it needs to cool a long time before it is ready to sliced, I reccomend making it the day before you plan to serve it, because it seemed to need a full 24 hours to cool and solidify completely. (the leftover( not that there was much)was BETTER)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawbakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windham, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I had trouble getting the coconut layer to set. It always came out goopy when slicing the pie. I read through a view tips online and it suggested that I boil it for a long enough time to get the cornstarch to break down and do its job. Sure enough it worked! But I boiled the haupia for wayyy too long and the chocolate layer ended up a bit too hard. I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Made a good pie but I would like more coconut flavour. Did not want to add shredded coconut because I felt it would ruin the velvety texture of the pie. I'm not a fan of extracts or artificial flavouring. I will definitely try again, next time I'll probably experiment with using twice the coconut milk and reducing it by half. Also I topped the pie with a mountain of meringue to save a butt load of the fat and calories the recipe contains with the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
love it! Now I don't have to wait till I'm in Hawaii to have Haupia pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I took this pie to a potluck and it was all eaten. I did like the taste of it, but I liked the chocolate layer much more than the plain coconut layer. I think if I ever make it again I will just make it all with chocolate. I garnished with some toasted coconut and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmoore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was a beautiful pie! The coconut flavor is very hard to detect with the chocolate so that my kids liked it, even though they don't like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I needed a dessert for my mom's birthday gathering. One of her favorite candy bars are mounds. I found this recipe and thought she would like the combination and the recipe seemed pretty easy. I followed the recipe and made no changes. I did chill the pie longer, like another reviewer suggested. After piping the whipped cream on I topped the pie with toasted coconut and chocolate curls. We all really liked the pie and I have noted to make this one again. Next time I want to add more coconut. The chocolate overpowered the coconut a little, but not enough for us to dislike it. I may try to add coconut flakes to the coconut pudding layer before I put the chocolate layer. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Delicious pie. It is true, the coconut flavor IS faint, so I added a layer of flaked coconut on top of both the chocolate and coconut pudding layers. This seemed to add the extra flavor that was needed. Also, I used a graham cracker crust (so good!) and a full cup of chocolate chips...very good & not too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States