Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This pie was ok. It didn't have a lot of flavor. Next time I would decrease the chocolate layer and maybe top with toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Yummy. Followed other's advice, less chocolate layer, added coconut to white layer. Couldn't find coconut milk so used regular milk with coconut extract. Also used microwave rather than stove top. Tasted a lot like eating a huge Mounds candy bar! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This must be the most delectable chocolate haupia pie on Earth. My family and I have enjoyed haupia pies from the famous Ted's Bakery in Hawaii before, but my family believes this is just as good, if not better, than Ted's!! (Which is hard to believe!) My only advice: Be sure to refrigerate it for a few extra hours before serving. It is best when the haupia is really firm. It sliced wonderfully and it has the smoothest, creamiest texture! I recommend making a sweet graham cracker crust for it, it seems to work beautifully. Also, I read some reviews where people added coconut extract, but I did not. The coconut milk gave it plenty of that delicious Hawaiian flavor I was looking for. This is a refreshing treat that is sure to impress everyone who loves the wonderful combination of coconut and chocolate. The coconut flavor is subtle but definitely present and the amount of chocolate the recipe calls for is perfect. And lastly, some of my family members aren't terribly fond of coconut but they still loved the pie. Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I was excited to try it out, but thought the flavors were a little weird together. My chocolate layer was way too overpowering and the coconut layer lacked major flavor. If I was to make again I would cut down on the amount of chocolate chips used and add some coconut extract to make the coconut flavor stand out. Plus, the middle layers texture was a little too much for me, it turned into almost a solid gel instead of a creamy pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Haven't made this yet, but i'm sure it'll turn out great! I'm just sooo happy I found this. I'm also from Hawaii and I miss Ted's Chocolate Haupia pies I would buy from foodland. I MISS HAWAII FOOD SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I was able to make 2 pies with this recipe. I did 1 layering coconut pudding on bottom and the other pie with the chocolate pudding on the bottom. These were really good pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim1430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
If I could give this more than 5 stars I definately would. I was looking for a great chocolate pie then I came across this and made it being that I love coconut too. The only thing I did different was to toast some coconut for the top along with some hershey bar shavings on top also.The filling did turn out to be enough for two pies which I gave one to my neighbor. I wish I wouldn't of. If I would of known how good this was I would of ate them both. This is now my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this with a coconut crust (by pressing sweetened coconut and butter into the bottom pie plate and baking it for 15 mins and cooling it prior to making the filling) I also added some coconut and vanilla extract to the heavy cream to make it more coconutty! It was a big BIG hit at my christmas party 2 people told me it was the best pie they had ever eaten. MY only complaint is that it needs to cool a long time before it is ready to sliced, I reccomend making it the day before you plan to serve it, because it seemed to need a full 24 hours to cool and solidify completely. (the leftover( not that there was much)was BETTER)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawbakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windham, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I had trouble getting the coconut layer to set. It always came out goopy when slicing the pie. I read through a view tips online and it suggested that I boil it for a long enough time to get the cornstarch to break down and do its job. Sure enough it worked! But I boiled the haupia for wayyy too long and the chocolate layer ended up a bit too hard. I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Made a good pie but I would like more coconut flavour. Did not want to add shredded coconut because I felt it would ruin the velvety texture of the pie. I'm not a fan of extracts or artificial flavouring. I will definitely try again, next time I'll probably experiment with using twice the coconut milk and reducing it by half. Also I topped the pie with a mountain of meringue to save a butt load of the fat and calories the recipe contains with the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States