Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Oh ya... This was AWESOME! WE loved it. LOVED it. I just bought some coconut extract to add to my recipe for the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Renee'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great Recipe, Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This pie was really good. I did add a tsp of coconut extract to the cocnut layer and it did give a bit of artificial flavor. I think next time I would add shredded coconut instead. This pie has a very smooth silky texture. I did read some reviews where people commented on it being like chowder? My only suggestion is whisk, whisk, and whisk. Make sure to constantly whisk it while its on the stove and then get the mixture poured into the pie crust as soon as possible and give it a good whisk right before pouring it in. As other reviews said the chocolate layer is pretty rich so stick with the 7/8 cup or even reduce a little. I also used an oero grahm crust and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I have never tried haupia before, so I can`t compare this with a real Hawaiian haupia. This pie has a nice flavor, although chocolate layer was a little overpowering. But the texture leaves much to be desired. This is not pie, but chowder texture, especially chocolate layer. Very difficult to prevent a mess. I don`t know, maybe haupia must have such texture, but this was the thing I didn`t like so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Aloha Kakou! Onolicious! I prefer deep chocolate. Next time I will use a third of the haupia to mix with the choc chips. Half of the haupia mix with the deep choc overwhelmed the light flavor of the coconut. Will definitely take to the next Hawaiian Civic Club pot luck! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
AMAZING! Everyone said this is their favorite thing that I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The pie was pretty good, but I have to agree that the coconut layer was lacking flavor. It needed something extra. I used close to 1 cup of chocolate chips and that was too chocolatey. I used the Healthier Graham Cracker Crust from this site and topped the pie with bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This pie was ok. It didn't have a lot of flavor. Next time I would decrease the chocolate layer and maybe top with toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Yummy. Followed other's advice, less chocolate layer, added coconut to white layer. Couldn't find coconut milk so used regular milk with coconut extract. Also used microwave rather than stove top. Tasted a lot like eating a huge Mounds candy bar! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This must be the most delectable chocolate haupia pie on Earth. My family and I have enjoyed haupia pies from the famous Ted's Bakery in Hawaii before, but my family believes this is just as good, if not better, than Ted's!! (Which is hard to believe!) My only advice: Be sure to refrigerate it for a few extra hours before serving. It is best when the haupia is really firm. It sliced wonderfully and it has the smoothest, creamiest texture! I recommend making a sweet graham cracker crust for it, it seems to work beautifully. Also, I read some reviews where people added coconut extract, but I did not. The coconut milk gave it plenty of that delicious Hawaiian flavor I was looking for. This is a refreshing treat that is sure to impress everyone who loves the wonderful combination of coconut and chocolate. The coconut flavor is subtle but definitely present and the amount of chocolate the recipe calls for is perfect. And lastly, some of my family members aren't terribly fond of coconut but they still loved the pie. Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States