Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This pie was really good. I did add a tsp of coconut extract to the cocnut layer and it did give a bit of artificial flavor. I think next time I would add shredded coconut instead. This pie has a very smooth silky texture. I did read some reviews where people commented on it being like chowder? My only suggestion is whisk, whisk, and whisk. Make sure to constantly whisk it while its on the stove and then get the mixture poured into the pie crust as soon as possible and give it a good whisk right before pouring it in. As other reviews said the chocolate layer is pretty rich so stick with the 7/8 cup or even reduce a little. I also used an oero grahm crust and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I have never tried haupia before, so I can`t compare this with a real Hawaiian haupia. This pie has a nice flavor, although chocolate layer was a little overpowering. But the texture leaves much to be desired. This is not pie, but chowder texture, especially chocolate layer. Very difficult to prevent a mess. I don`t know, maybe haupia must have such texture, but this was the thing I didn`t like so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Aloha Kakou! Onolicious! I prefer deep chocolate. Next time I will use a third of the haupia to mix with the choc chips. Half of the haupia mix with the deep choc overwhelmed the light flavor of the coconut. Will definitely take to the next Hawaiian Civic Club pot luck! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
AMAZING! Everyone said this is their favorite thing that I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
The pie was pretty good, but I have to agree that the coconut layer was lacking flavor. It needed something extra. I used close to 1 cup of chocolate chips and that was too chocolatey. I used the Healthier Graham Cracker Crust from this site and topped the pie with bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This pie was ok. It didn't have a lot of flavor. Next time I would decrease the chocolate layer and maybe top with toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Yummy. Followed other's advice, less chocolate layer, added coconut to white layer. Couldn't find coconut milk so used regular milk with coconut extract. Also used microwave rather than stove top. Tasted a lot like eating a huge Mounds candy bar! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This must be the most delectable chocolate haupia pie on Earth. My family and I have enjoyed haupia pies from the famous Ted's Bakery in Hawaii before, but my family believes this is just as good, if not better, than Ted's!! (Which is hard to believe!) My only advice: Be sure to refrigerate it for a few extra hours before serving. It is best when the haupia is really firm. It sliced wonderfully and it has the smoothest, creamiest texture! I recommend making a sweet graham cracker crust for it, it seems to work beautifully. Also, I read some reviews where people added coconut extract, but I did not. The coconut milk gave it plenty of that delicious Hawaiian flavor I was looking for. This is a refreshing treat that is sure to impress everyone who loves the wonderful combination of coconut and chocolate. The coconut flavor is subtle but definitely present and the amount of chocolate the recipe calls for is perfect. And lastly, some of my family members aren't terribly fond of coconut but they still loved the pie. Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I was excited to try it out, but thought the flavors were a little weird together. My chocolate layer was way too overpowering and the coconut layer lacked major flavor. If I was to make again I would cut down on the amount of chocolate chips used and add some coconut extract to make the coconut flavor stand out. Plus, the middle layers texture was a little too much for me, it turned into almost a solid gel instead of a creamy pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Haven't made this yet, but i'm sure it'll turn out great! I'm just sooo happy I found this. I'm also from Hawaii and I miss Ted's Chocolate Haupia pies I would buy from foodland. I MISS HAWAII FOOD SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States