Coconut (Haupia) and Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This tasted amazing, and it was so easy! My boyfriend is from Hawaii, so I decided to make this because he loves Haupia. I've tried the version from Ted's Bakery, and just like everyone else said, this is the equivalent or better! I used a premade graham cracker crust, and it tasted so good! I only used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream because that is all I had left, and it was more than enough whipped cream to cover the pie. I don't think coconut extract is needed as others have suggested, Haupia is usually a light coconut taste, not heavy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I love, love, love this recipe. So yummy! I added a little vanilla extract to the whipped cream but that's it, wouldn't change anything else. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
So so good!! Although I renamed it in my recipe box " almond joy pie". I added 2/3cup shaved almonds to chocolate mixture and 1 cup coconut to white mixture, then topped the whip topping with toasted coconut and chocolate shaveings.Great presentation and tasted just like an almond joy! The only thing I would do different next time is refrigerate it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loreta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Yum! Everyone couldn't keep their hands off of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
An amazingly simple recipe. Luscious and chocolaty with the right touch of coconut. Based on the other reviews, I was concerned that the haupia would be too firm... so I used only 2/3 the recommended cornstarch and the end result was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
When going to Ted's Bakery on Oahu wasn't realistic, this pie is a pretty close. I've always been scared of making custard/cream pies, but this was so easy and I had most of the ingredients in my pantry. I used a little more chocolate than listed to get that richer, chocolate color & taste to the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Absolutely loved this recipe. Very easy to make and very tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I have made this several times now and it is always a hit! I follow the recipe exactly and it turns out perfectly. Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe that is now one of my all time favorite pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Pruett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Seemed like too much cornstarch. It gave th filling an almost gelatin-like consistency. The flavor was good, just didn't like the "mouth feel"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKIENBUSCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I've made this pie several times. This Christmas my family picked it over pecan pie, key lime pie and red velvet cake! The recipe is good just as it's written. To make it better I always add 1 Tablespoon of coconut extract to the part you boil. Then I add 1/2 cup coconut flakes to the coconut layer. We usually have to cut the last slice in several pieces to avoid a fight. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States