Coconut Gumdrop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Used small baking gums snipped in half, no pecans, added half cup dried currants. Dropped from tsp and didn't flatten with fork. Made perfect little cookies. Easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I just made a batch. So delicious. Can't wait for the kids to get home from school and try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LASTRONG
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
These are even better with a few tweaks...I prefer to use butter over shortening and then also add a tsp. of grated orange zest...also I roll them into a log, refrigerate overnight and then slice and bake the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASTRONG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I was a little worried at first because the cookie mixture seemed a little dry, but if you lightly bake them they come out moist and chewy. They do no spread in the pan much at all, which is nice. I followed the recipe exactly, but after the first batch came out of the oven (not as pretty as i would have liked) I decided to top each dough ball with two (cut up) peices of gumdrops. I pressed the candy gently into the cookie so it made a nice presentation but would not fall off after baking.Very pretty!!! Oh and the cookies taste amazing! If I make them again I will add some vanilla and maybe a T of milk to moisten them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Really nice cookies. The butter/shortening confused me. I used shortening and 2 tbsp of water in my second batch and they came out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCSHELLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These were fun, and very good. I used jelly beans instead of gumdrops, but I'll try it with gumdrops instead. They were a tad crunchy when all was said and done, but I put them all in a plastic bag to freeze and after a day in the bag they are softer but still taste good. I so goofed and forgot the coconut, but I didn't realize it until just now when I went to review them and they came up as coconut gumdrop cookies. Oops! I'll try them again with gumdrops AND coconut next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made these yummy cookies.The only exception I dusted them with powdered sugar. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These cookies are delicious! I used dark brown sugar, lessened the baking powder and soda to 3/4 teaspoon each, left out the salt (my husband has to restrict his sodium), and added 1/2 teaspoon coconut flavoring. I used crystallized ginger instead of gumdrops, and cut it up into tiny pieces, using about 1/2 cup. The ginger really compliments the coconut and pecans. Excellent cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I omitted the gumdrops and the cookies were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe has been number one with me for years. I am so excited to find it on here. My gramma made these when I was a child, and I lost her recipe. I would call them Christmas light cookies, and hold them to the light. They are chewy from the gum drops, yet crispy, and the coconut adds sweetness these are a wonderful addition to a Christmas tradition. This is a top notch cookie. Bake with confidence and enjoy! mmm is all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States