Coconut Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is a really good granola! I didn't have coconut milk, so I substituted with SILK PureAlmond milk. I also did as other reviewers said to do with substitutions, Maple Syrup for the barley malt syrup and all coconut oil-no veggie oil (coconut oil is better for you). I also did as one reviewer said to do- set oven temp to 250 and bake longer. This worked really well, besides I had bread dough rising so it help keep the kitchen warm this COLD winter day!!! Will make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This granola is pretty good, though the recipe needs some tweaking. It is very sticky and sweet, not my preference, so I would cut back on the sweetener. The coconut flavor is good. The method for baking seems to be the biggest trouble for the recipe. My usual granola is baked at 250 F for 30 minutes, stirred, then baked another 15-30 minutes according to personal taste. It never burns in this slow oven and cooks evenly through. This recipe was very dark on bottom and not cooked enough on top. My oven may be a factor, but I just thought I would put out the suggestion to cook longer and slower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Love this! I didn't have coconut oil, so just used extra veg oil, and I used dark chocolate chips instead of the dried fruit. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Nice recipe that is easy to do. I trade dried blueberries for the cranberries and my kids absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
We all loved this granola!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dominalien7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wonderful! I used all coconut oil and all honey and used wheat germ instead of oat bran. This recipe is a wonderful way to incorporate coconut oil into your diet for medical reasons (thyroid, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Yummy. Love that it is not so sweet. I did use all honey and all coconut oil. Definately a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This stuff was yummy and easy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This recipe worked very well for me. I did replace the 1/2 cup barley malt syrup with mix of more honey and pure maple syrup. I also went with all coconut oil. Dried cherries instead of cranberries and added some cinnamon and nutmeg for a little additonal flavor. I did cook it longer, more than twice as long as needed and did stir it halfway so that it all browned well. My daughter loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFBOYOHBOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is certainly a quick and easy granola recipe. I do not tend to have barley syrup in my cupboard, so I used all honey, with good results. I also substituted coconut extract for the vanilla as I was looking for as strong a coconut flavor as possible. That was a good call, as I still found it subtle, but that is personal preference. It is definitely there, not lacking. I added dried blueberries when finished, which was a nice flavor match. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States