Coconut Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
awesome! better and better every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made this recipe over the weekend at the request of my mother who is a flan lover. I did not have coconut milk so I substituted with equal amount of grated coconut. I think it gave it a nice texture. I had to adjust cooking time to 2 hours because at the end of the first hour it was still very liquid in the middle. I used a 3 qt glass (pyrex) baking dish as indicated. Overall great tasting dessert. Will make it again really soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This dish is phenomenal! I took it for a Mexican potluck at work and everyone said it was by far their favorite dish. The coconut flavor is mild, not at all overpowering. Absolutely delicious!! I could make this every week! It's Mexico's answer to Creme Brulee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I used 2 egg yolks and 4 egg whites, as one reviewer suggested, and used 2 tbsp of coconut extract. The alcohol taste from the coconut extract was a bit strong, but it was still very good. I'm thinking of boiling the extract in the milk next time to get rid of the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This flan turned out very well. I followed the recipe exactly except I add 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract. I think the almond extract enhanced the coconut taste and made it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made this for my grandpa's birthday, and he was really proud of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I wasn't impressed with this recipe at all. It was really watery and you could not taste the coconut. I think the whole milk killed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
suggestion: I made another flan recipe and added cream of coconut (sweeter and creamier than coconut milk)+ low fat sweetened condensed milk + 2 eggs + 4 egg whites + 2tsps vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
The recipe works just fine as it's listed, and the texture was absolutely perfect. The carmelized sugar was awesome. The only problem was that the flan itself was almost bitter, no sweet flavor as you would expect from the ingredients. The sugar helped, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a bad recipe. The flan had no taste - not enough coconut or vanilla. There was not egough egg to set the large amount of liquid in the baking time specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States