Coconut Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I used 2 egg yolks and 4 egg whites, as one reviewer suggested, and used 2 tbsp of coconut extract. The alcohol taste from the coconut extract was a bit strong, but it was still very good. I'm thinking of boiling the extract in the milk next time to get rid of the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This flan turned out very well. I followed the recipe exactly except I add 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract. I think the almond extract enhanced the coconut taste and made it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made this for my grandpa's birthday, and he was really proud of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I wasn't impressed with this recipe at all. It was really watery and you could not taste the coconut. I think the whole milk killed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
suggestion: I made another flan recipe and added cream of coconut (sweeter and creamier than coconut milk)+ low fat sweetened condensed milk + 2 eggs + 4 egg whites + 2tsps vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
The recipe works just fine as it's listed, and the texture was absolutely perfect. The carmelized sugar was awesome. The only problem was that the flan itself was almost bitter, no sweet flavor as you would expect from the ingredients. The sugar helped, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a bad recipe. The flan had no taste - not enough coconut or vanilla. There was not egough egg to set the large amount of liquid in the baking time specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I thought this was very good, especially the next day. I added 1 tsp coconut extract for a more coconut flavor, but next time I will add at least 2 like an earlier reviewer stated. I also only used 4 eggs, because that's what I had on hand. It still was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I made this for a party, and everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Great recipe! I wouldn't change a thing. It did take about 20 mins longer to cook than recipe stated. ***As good as my grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States