Coconut Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I want to know how to make the caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I give this recipe a 10, I made it for my family last weekend for a party. And they absolutely loved it! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I made this recipe, dividing it in two parts. In one I added 1/2 small can of pumpkin, 1t cinnamon, 1/2t ginger, 1/4t ground cloves. In the other, I added about 1/3 package of creamed coconut. They were both so delicious, and the recipe is so simple! It's almost cheating to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and everyone loves it. It's the perfect flan recipe. My son wants it for his birthday party instead of a cake. It's creamy and rich tasting, but not cloying. The next time I make it I may add some flaked coconut, but I'm not sure if I should change a perfect recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ac
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I always tough that was so difficult to make this recipe, but it's so easy and came out really good... We are just enjoining on family right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dolce Vianey
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this recipe and i love it! So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very Dissapointed with the lack of coconut flavor, also an hour is way to long to cook a flan. I should have pulled them out around 40-45 min, they were over cooked. Will not make again :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CVD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Thanks for the recipe. In my experience, I added 1/2 cup of coconut flakes. I forgot to add the 1-1/2 cups of milk and was worried about stiffness but instead, it still took 1.5 hrs to bake/set--with the oven turned down to 300F. The coconut flakes rose to the top and started to brown so I covered it in the last .5 hr. When is the right time to add the flakes--does anyone know? Finally, I didn't have vanilla so I added 1/4 cup vanilla syrup but it still wasn't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Really rich and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
oh. em. gee. The first two times I made this, I thought it was sooo good. But both those times I accidentally forgot to add the whole milk, and the resulting texture was delicious, but firmer and tasted eggier than as the recipe calls for. If made to the recipe's specifications, this is so fluffy and delicious it will MELT in your mouth! And none of that yucky eggy taste. I'm sitting here taking it all away from my guests to gobble it up in the privacy of my room because it is THAT good. I added a generous helping of vanilla [2 tspn?], a little coconut extract and a teeny bit of almond extract. In Canada, sweetened condensed milk isn't sold in 14oz cans [as far as I could see] so I had a little less, but I think not being overly sweet adds to the charm of this dessert, and it is still sweet and custardy. It is also important not to let your sugar burn/brown to much, as the flavor WILL show through. I gave up and put it in the pan still slightly lumpy this time around because I can't seem to avoid slightly burning it, and it turned out just fine. I've also made it with a sprinkling of cardamom and it turns out HEAVENLY, tastes like a chai flan or something. This recipe is enough to make two pans - WHICH YOU WILL NEED. One for you, one for everyone else :D Some notes: it will deflate slightly when cooled and lose some of its volume, so you can think about cooking in a deeper pan. Also, DO NOT FORGET THE WHOLE MILK. num num num. thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States