Coconut Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Thanks for the recipe. In my experience, I added 1/2 cup of coconut flakes. I forgot to add the 1-1/2 cups of milk and was worried about stiffness but instead, it still took 1.5 hrs to bake/set--with the oven turned down to 300F. The coconut flakes rose to the top and started to brown so I covered it in the last .5 hr. When is the right time to add the flakes--does anyone know? Finally, I didn't have vanilla so I added 1/4 cup vanilla syrup but it still wasn't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Really rich and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
oh. em. gee. The first two times I made this, I thought it was sooo good. But both those times I accidentally forgot to add the whole milk, and the resulting texture was delicious, but firmer and tasted eggier than as the recipe calls for. If made to the recipe's specifications, this is so fluffy and delicious it will MELT in your mouth! And none of that yucky eggy taste. I'm sitting here taking it all away from my guests to gobble it up in the privacy of my room because it is THAT good. I added a generous helping of vanilla [2 tspn?], a little coconut extract and a teeny bit of almond extract. In Canada, sweetened condensed milk isn't sold in 14oz cans [as far as I could see] so I had a little less, but I think not being overly sweet adds to the charm of this dessert, and it is still sweet and custardy. It is also important not to let your sugar burn/brown to much, as the flavor WILL show through. I gave up and put it in the pan still slightly lumpy this time around because I can't seem to avoid slightly burning it, and it turned out just fine. I've also made it with a sprinkling of cardamom and it turns out HEAVENLY, tastes like a chai flan or something. This recipe is enough to make two pans - WHICH YOU WILL NEED. One for you, one for everyone else :D Some notes: it will deflate slightly when cooled and lose some of its volume, so you can think about cooking in a deeper pan. Also, DO NOT FORGET THE WHOLE MILK. num num num. thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Disappointed in the lack of coconut flavor, even with added extract. But the overall recipe was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This turned out perfect, even though I left out the regular milk (oops - was too excited!). I added two teaspoons of coconut extract. I think one would have been enough for my personal taste. This was good, but I still like "original" flan better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I made this flan and I hoped that it would taste like coconut but sadly no coconut flavor. I added a tsp. of vanilla & almond extract and it added a nice almond flavor. I also used lowfat milk. Next time I will try the recipe with cream of coconut. I also only cooked it for 1hr. Another tip is to make the caramel in a non-stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Absolutely great recipe! Just add the same amount of coconut extract flavoring and you'll love the more pronounced coconut flavor. I also substituted the coconut milk for coconut cream. Turned out delightful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I loved it! I did, however, take the recommendations and substitute Creme de Coconut for the coconut milk. I also added a teaspoon of coconut excract. The coconut flavor was perfect and it was a very sweet flan. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was great! I loved it and so did my whole family. The only thing I suggest is to add extract of coconut to the mixture, with just the coconut milk alone you really don't get that coconut taste. Other than that....it was great!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sbingham07
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. The flan had a great texture and colour, but the taste was rather... I will not be making this particular version of Coconut Flan Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbingham07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Killingly, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States