Coconut Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I made this recipe twice, the first time as written and I could barley taste the coconut. So the next time I made it I used 2 1/2 tsp. coconut extract & 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and it was much better - the coconut taste is perfect. I made it for a party of 20 and everyone said it was PERFECT. It takes 1 hr. & 20 minutes to cook if you use 1 large dish. Easy to make and definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
suggestion: I made another flan recipe and added cream of coconut (sweeter and creamier than coconut milk)+ low fat sweetened condensed milk + 2 eggs + 4 egg whites + 2tsps vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This flan turned out very well. I followed the recipe exactly except I add 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract. I think the almond extract enhanced the coconut taste and made it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I thought this was very good, especially the next day. I added 1 tsp coconut extract for a more coconut flavor, but next time I will add at least 2 like an earlier reviewer stated. I also only used 4 eggs, because that's what I had on hand. It still was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Photo by sbingham07
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. The flan had a great texture and colour, but the taste was rather... I will not be making this particular version of Coconut Flan Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbingham07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Killingly, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I used 2 egg yolks and 4 egg whites, as one reviewer suggested, and used 2 tbsp of coconut extract. The alcohol taste from the coconut extract was a bit strong, but it was still very good. I'm thinking of boiling the extract in the milk next time to get rid of the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I loved it! I did, however, take the recommendations and substitute Creme de Coconut for the coconut milk. I also added a teaspoon of coconut excract. The coconut flavor was perfect and it was a very sweet flan. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made this recipe over the weekend at the request of my mother who is a flan lover. I did not have coconut milk so I substituted with equal amount of grated coconut. I think it gave it a nice texture. I had to adjust cooking time to 2 hours because at the end of the first hour it was still very liquid in the middle. I used a 3 qt glass (pyrex) baking dish as indicated. Overall great tasting dessert. Will make it again really soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a bad recipe. The flan had no taste - not enough coconut or vanilla. There was not egough egg to set the large amount of liquid in the baking time specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Absolutely great recipe! Just add the same amount of coconut extract flavoring and you'll love the more pronounced coconut flavor. I also substituted the coconut milk for coconut cream. Turned out delightful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States