Coconut Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
suggestion: I made another flan recipe and added cream of coconut (sweeter and creamier than coconut milk)+ low fat sweetened condensed milk + 2 eggs + 4 egg whites + 2tsps vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
The recipe works just fine as it's listed, and the texture was absolutely perfect. The carmelized sugar was awesome. The only problem was that the flan itself was almost bitter, no sweet flavor as you would expect from the ingredients. The sugar helped, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This is a bad recipe. The flan had no taste - not enough coconut or vanilla. There was not egough egg to set the large amount of liquid in the baking time specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I thought this was very good, especially the next day. I added 1 tsp coconut extract for a more coconut flavor, but next time I will add at least 2 like an earlier reviewer stated. I also only used 4 eggs, because that's what I had on hand. It still was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I made this for a party, and everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Great recipe! I wouldn't change a thing. It did take about 20 mins longer to cook than recipe stated. ***As good as my grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This was a very tasty flan -- however, I was disappointed at the subtleness of the coconut flavor. I might try some subsitutions - maybe cream of coconut instead of the condensed milk, to make the coconut flavor stand out. Also -- I ended up stirring the sugar to prevent burning and the caramel came out great. Also, I used 2% milk instead of whole milk and the consistency was still perfect. A very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I made this recipe twice, the first time as written and I could barley taste the coconut. So the next time I made it I used 2 1/2 tsp. coconut extract & 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and it was much better - the coconut taste is perfect. I made it for a party of 20 and everyone said it was PERFECT. It takes 1 hr. & 20 minutes to cook if you use 1 large dish. Easy to make and definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States