Coconut Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Absolutely great recipe! Just add the same amount of coconut extract flavoring and you'll love the more pronounced coconut flavor. I also substituted the coconut milk for coconut cream. Turned out delightful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I loved it! I did, however, take the recommendations and substitute Creme de Coconut for the coconut milk. I also added a teaspoon of coconut excract. The coconut flavor was perfect and it was a very sweet flan. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was great! I loved it and so did my whole family. The only thing I suggest is to add extract of coconut to the mixture, with just the coconut milk alone you really don't get that coconut taste. Other than that....it was great!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sbingham07
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. The flan had a great texture and colour, but the taste was rather... I will not be making this particular version of Coconut Flan Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbingham07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Killingly, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
awesome! better and better every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made this recipe over the weekend at the request of my mother who is a flan lover. I did not have coconut milk so I substituted with equal amount of grated coconut. I think it gave it a nice texture. I had to adjust cooking time to 2 hours because at the end of the first hour it was still very liquid in the middle. I used a 3 qt glass (pyrex) baking dish as indicated. Overall great tasting dessert. Will make it again really soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This dish is phenomenal! I took it for a Mexican potluck at work and everyone said it was by far their favorite dish. The coconut flavor is mild, not at all overpowering. Absolutely delicious!! I could make this every week! It's Mexico's answer to Creme Brulee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I used 2 egg yolks and 4 egg whites, as one reviewer suggested, and used 2 tbsp of coconut extract. The alcohol taste from the coconut extract was a bit strong, but it was still very good. I'm thinking of boiling the extract in the milk next time to get rid of the alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This flan turned out very well. I followed the recipe exactly except I add 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract. I think the almond extract enhanced the coconut taste and made it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made this for my grandpa's birthday, and he was really proud of me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States