Coconut Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
This was amazing! I used 1 cup of raisins instead of dates and put 1 heaping tablespoons of melted coconut oil in. Great if you can't have gluten and there are so many different variations you could make. Definitely making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
Easy, quick, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
I use almost this exact recipe for my coconut date bars and would like to offer this suggestion to those finding the mixture too crumbly -- simply up the coconut oil to 1 tablespoon and add 1 tablespoon of water.(You can also cut back on the amount of nuts to help keep it pliable. I add 1/3 cup total of the nuts I put in my recipe.) Process in food processor until the mixture starts to come together, meaning it starts to form a single mass in your machine. I guarantee they will be moist and hold together beautifully for rolling into little date balls or forming into a log. You can also roll them in a little more coconut to make them less sticky while holding to eat. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Whipped this up in minuets so simple and tastes amazing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jollydavis
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Delicious. After reading all the reviews, I doubled the recipe, skipping the oil because the reviews mentioned this. When the mix started getting crumbly in the blender, I added 1/4 cup of honey. Then it was too sticky, so I added about 1C oatmeal and 1/4C chia to help soak it up. Greasing, pan, hands, spatula, before trying to get the mix out of the blended is helpful. I pressed it into a brownie pan, sprinkled the top with chocolate chips and melted them in a 350 oven for 10 minutes. Spread the chocolate and chill. The layer of hardened chocolate helps hold everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
These bars are delicious. I made these today for my Paleo step daughter. I think that I'll eat this batch and make her some more. Recipe didn't specify about the coconut so I used one in the shell so as to avoid the processed sugar. The end result was worth the effort of dealing with the coconut husk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I added dried cranberries, flax and chia, walnuts and sunflower kernels. Kind of threw together what I had. My husband needed them for a school survival trip. His classmates raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayda
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Awesome, delicious and so easy to make. I just stuck everything in my nutribullet and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I tried these on a whim when a friend gave me some dates. I only had 6 dates, but I followed the recipe otherwise. By the color of the bars in the picture, I think the bars would have held together much better if I had 10 or more dates. The bars did not hold together very well, but they did taste good. A very subtle sweetness, with the date flavor as an interesting after taste. I will try these again but maybe with some honey for extra hold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My dates were dry so I heated them up with a bit of water in a pot on the stove before blending them in. Nutritious and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States