Coconut Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shayda
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Awesome, delicious and so easy to make. I just stuck everything in my nutribullet and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I tried these on a whim when a friend gave me some dates. I only had 6 dates, but I followed the recipe otherwise. By the color of the bars in the picture, I think the bars would have held together much better if I had 10 or more dates. The bars did not hold together very well, but they did taste good. A very subtle sweetness, with the date flavor as an interesting after taste. I will try these again but maybe with some honey for extra hold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My dates were dry so I heated them up with a bit of water in a pot on the stove before blending them in. Nutritious and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I LOVE these! I started eating Paleo a few months ago and this has been a staple in my house ever since. They are insanely easy to make (with a decent food processor) and absolutely delicious. I press mine into a small glass dish and they come out great. A little crumbly if I don't press them firm enough or let them refrigerate long enough but even crumbly they're to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I made 4 double patches today, different combos of extras, they are all great! You do need to pulse and/or run the food processor at least 2 or more minutes to get to the ball state. I used a combo of Medjool and Deglet Noor dates, since the medjools are more expensive but as another reviewer pointed out are more moist and sticky. I combined the coconut (half unsweetened), whole almonds, and dates in the processor then mixed in the extras by hand, literally. I too left out the oil, although did coat my hands with it to press the dough. I made Almond with Choc Chip with sliced almonds and mini chips, Cashew Cranberry and Chia, and Pecan Cherry. Having the chunks of the fruit and nuts mixes up the texture a bit. To form bars I lined a loaf tin with plastic wrap and then pressed in the dough, turned it out and then cut into pieces without refrigerating first. Put into plastic bags to make a quick grab and go snack. A double batch made 10 squares about 1/2 to 3/4 in thick. Will be making these for a long time to come!! Perfect gluten free snack! With more time I'd like to try some additional flavorings like spices or peels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Very tasty, my girls ages 10 and 8 wanted me to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are GREAT! So addictive, and a great substitute for expensive energy bars. I didn't add the coconut oil, but I did throw a few chocolate chips in, and they turned out wonderfully! I used a small food processor (it holds like two cups) and pulsed and ground the heck out of it until it was starting to stick together and ball up in the processor. Be patient, it took at least 60 two-second spins. Maybe the people having trouble with the recipe are using different dates? I used boxed, unpitted medjool dates, which are pretty sticky. I also spread the mixture between two pieces of parchment paper and really pressed it together. I'm off to make a second batch with some different nuts! Thanks for the keeper, Lacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
great taste but didn't hold together at all...anyone know what i did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Very tasty. Without a photo by lacy, the recipe submitter, and limited guidance (“pulse until mixture is thick and sticks together”), it’s hard to know how fine or coarse a texture she intended these bars to have. In preparing this review, a photo by lacy was found in her member photo gallery which gives a good representation as to size if recipe is followed. Making the recipe exactly as written and after processing the ingredients, the uncut square was no larger than half the size of the square shown in a 2/21/13 photo by LatinaCook. Given this 4 servings recipe, the unprocessed nuts and coconut equal about 1 cup for 4 servings, and after processing, about 1/8 cup of processed mixture + 2-1/2 dates per serving. For those with a Vitamix blender, the combined ingredients do not form enough mixture to work with as it sticks to the side of the blender, barely above the blade, and the tamper tool can’t reach it. Next time making these, I’ll at least double the recipe as that would probably provide a sufficient amount of mixture to process with a Vitamix or to justify the time involved in cleaning the food processor. I’ll also eliminate the coconut oil as the nuts and oil deliver a lot of fat for a relatively small sized bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States