Coconut Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I LOVE these! I started eating Paleo a few months ago and this has been a staple in my house ever since. They are insanely easy to make (with a decent food processor) and absolutely delicious. I press mine into a small glass dish and they come out great. A little crumbly if I don't press them firm enough or let them refrigerate long enough but even crumbly they're to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I made 4 double patches today, different combos of extras, they are all great! You do need to pulse and/or run the food processor at least 2 or more minutes to get to the ball state. I used a combo of Medjool and Deglet Noor dates, since the medjools are more expensive but as another reviewer pointed out are more moist and sticky. I combined the coconut (half unsweetened), whole almonds, and dates in the processor then mixed in the extras by hand, literally. I too left out the oil, although did coat my hands with it to press the dough. I made Almond with Choc Chip with sliced almonds and mini chips, Cashew Cranberry and Chia, and Pecan Cherry. Having the chunks of the fruit and nuts mixes up the texture a bit. To form bars I lined a loaf tin with plastic wrap and then pressed in the dough, turned it out and then cut into pieces without refrigerating first. Put into plastic bags to make a quick grab and go snack. A double batch made 10 squares about 1/2 to 3/4 in thick. Will be making these for a long time to come!! Perfect gluten free snack! With more time I'd like to try some additional flavorings like spices or peels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Very tasty, my girls ages 10 and 8 wanted me to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are GREAT! So addictive, and a great substitute for expensive energy bars. I didn't add the coconut oil, but I did throw a few chocolate chips in, and they turned out wonderfully! I used a small food processor (it holds like two cups) and pulsed and ground the heck out of it until it was starting to stick together and ball up in the processor. Be patient, it took at least 60 two-second spins. Maybe the people having trouble with the recipe are using different dates? I used boxed, unpitted medjool dates, which are pretty sticky. I also spread the mixture between two pieces of parchment paper and really pressed it together. I'm off to make a second batch with some different nuts! Thanks for the keeper, Lacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
great taste but didn't hold together at all...anyone know what i did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Very tasty. Without a photo by lacy, the recipe submitter, and limited guidance (“pulse until mixture is thick and sticks together”), it’s hard to know how fine or coarse a texture she intended these bars to have. In preparing this review, a photo by lacy was found in her member photo gallery which gives a good representation as to size if recipe is followed. Making the recipe exactly as written and after processing the ingredients, the uncut square was no larger than half the size of the square shown in a 2/21/13 photo by LatinaCook. Given this 4 servings recipe, the unprocessed nuts and coconut equal about 1 cup for 4 servings, and after processing, about 1/8 cup of processed mixture + 2-1/2 dates per serving. For those with a Vitamix blender, the combined ingredients do not form enough mixture to work with as it sticks to the side of the blender, barely above the blade, and the tamper tool can’t reach it. Next time making these, I’ll at least double the recipe as that would probably provide a sufficient amount of mixture to process with a Vitamix or to justify the time involved in cleaning the food processor. I’ll also eliminate the coconut oil as the nuts and oil deliver a lot of fat for a relatively small sized bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
the picture shows added cranberries or raisins. I added them in after the blend for the chunks and used parchment paper to mold them down in the pan for easy removal- good snacking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunny romero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made these twice and they are very crumbly. They don't look as pictured. I tried microwaving the dates, and adding more dates to soften the bars. They taste delicious, but I'm using it as a topping instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
All I can say is "WOW!" I made these for my mother-in-law's birthday since she was on a cleanse and could not eat any allergens whatsoever. They were gone as soon as I unveiled them. Even the kids, ages 2-7, ate more than one each! What a great recipe for a delicious, healthy, nutritious desert or snack that is so easy to make. Will most definitely make over and over again. Thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
These were very easy to make and they taste delicious. They are also very versatile so you won't get tired of the same flavor over and over again. They remind me of Larabars. I will use their flavors as ideas to make my own versions at home. I used raw whole almonds and pecans instead of cashews. I did add the coconut oil because it's good for you, but it doesn't need it hold together. The oil from the nuts is more than enough. Also, the dates make it sticky. The key here is to let the food processor go on(times will vary depending on the power of your processor) until the ingredients come together and form a ball. If you don't process the ingredients long enough, your mix might not stick together. Next time, I will skip the coconut oil because it made it a bit too greasy for me. Also, I might add unsweetened dried cherries or other fruits. Update: DO NOT add the oil. Even without the oil, the bars are oily/sticky enough. I made them again but folded in some dark chocolate mini chips and some chopped pecans to give it texture. Wow! Excellent. I'll add in some chopped almonds and some chopped dried cranberries or cherries next. Another idea would be dried apples and cinnamon...with or without raisins... Macadamias and white chocolate (though white chocolate isn't healthy, just add a bit)... Dried pineapples and mangoes... The possibilities are endless!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States