Coconut Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
I made these as written, and as I suspected, they were way too sweet for my taste. So now I make them with a few minor changes that make a big difference. I replace the 1 cup of sugar with 1/2 cup of honey. The dates are very sweet all on their own and in my opinion do not need as much added sugar as called for in the recipe. The honey, in a lower amount, seems perfect to me. I also usually omit the rice Krispies. They are good enough in there, but I like this recipe better without. I also add 1/4 teaspoon sea salt. Salt is a great addition to sweet recipes (think chocolate covered pretzels - the salty and sweet are soooo good together!). I incorporate the coconut into the mixture rather than just around the outside. And lastly, instead of rolling into balls, I place the mixture between two sheets of wax paper and roll it into a log about 1" in diameter and then cut into 2" logs. Neat and easy and so super delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I am only giving this a 4 because everyone eat these before I got to try one. Apparently, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I really like these, and I'm not a big cookie fan. I found it was easier to roll by adding coconut to the mixture--then it would get formed and stay together. I also found that it makes a difference if you buy brand name shredded coconut vs store brand. The store brand coconut is dryer, making it harder to roll and stay together. Edit: I froze these. When I want a few, I pop in the micro for couple of seconds, and they are still wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I do mine in microwave! So tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I love these growing up. My mom made them all the time.. But she stopped making them wen she had problems w her hands. Last yr I found the recipe and started maken then for my boys and they love them.. I also too them to my place of work and shared them and they were a big hit.. No one ther has ever herd of them.. But I think I ate dozen and half by my self. In one day.. Too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Coccaro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
i just made these again using the 'bar method", but i spread coconut on the bottom of my pan, spread the mixture and pressed it with wax paper, and then spread coconut on top. this was so much easier and fewer burn marks on my hands\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alycia Bouslog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
These are amazing-I now have a new favorite recipe! My daughter came home from school asking for date balls, and I looked them up and found this recipe, which is lacking the nuts that other recipes have. I read the reviews and decided to try it out, heeding the advice from comments to a. boil only 3 minutes, and b. using only 2 cups of rice crisps, based on comments that they are too crunchy. Result was PERFECT! Nice, gooey yet slightly crunchy texture. Butter on the fingers is a must for rolling. I will be making these for every holiday, birthday and anniversary celebration from now on. They were a huge hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have been making this recipe at Christmas for my family for 30 years. It was given to me by my MIL who had been making it since my husband was a boy. Needless to say it's not Christmas in our house until these are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Yummy I used kreativekuisine's adjustments.. Very Very Good and Gooey..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Love this recipe! My mom and I made these when I was a child. The only difference is that we always put about 1/2 c. of fresh chopped pecans. It helps to cut the sweetness a bit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States