Coconut Date Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I really like these, and I'm not a big cookie fan. I found it was easier to roll by adding coconut to the mixture--then it would get formed and stay together. I also found that it makes a difference if you buy brand name shredded coconut vs store brand. The store brand coconut is dryer, making it harder to roll and stay together. Edit: I froze these. When I want a few, I pop in the micro for couple of seconds, and they are still wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I do mine in microwave! So tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I love these growing up. My mom made them all the time.. But she stopped making them wen she had problems w her hands. Last yr I found the recipe and started maken then for my boys and they love them.. I also too them to my place of work and shared them and they were a big hit.. No one ther has ever herd of them.. But I think I ate dozen and half by my self. In one day.. Too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Coccaro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
i just made these again using the 'bar method", but i spread coconut on the bottom of my pan, spread the mixture and pressed it with wax paper, and then spread coconut on top. this was so much easier and fewer burn marks on my hands\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alycia Bouslog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
These are amazing-I now have a new favorite recipe! My daughter came home from school asking for date balls, and I looked them up and found this recipe, which is lacking the nuts that other recipes have. I read the reviews and decided to try it out, heeding the advice from comments to a. boil only 3 minutes, and b. using only 2 cups of rice crisps, based on comments that they are too crunchy. Result was PERFECT! Nice, gooey yet slightly crunchy texture. Butter on the fingers is a must for rolling. I will be making these for every holiday, birthday and anniversary celebration from now on. They were a huge hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have been making this recipe at Christmas for my family for 30 years. It was given to me by my MIL who had been making it since my husband was a boy. Needless to say it's not Christmas in our house until these are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Yummy I used kreativekuisine's adjustments.. Very Very Good and Gooey..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Love this recipe! My mom and I made these when I was a child. The only difference is that we always put about 1/2 c. of fresh chopped pecans. It helps to cut the sweetness a bit. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My spouse requests these every Christmas. I reduce the rice cereal by half and roll in fine coconut. I also use 2 spoons to roll the balls. They taste best when refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
My mother used to make these at Christmas time. The only difference in the recipe is that I add 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States