Coconut Custard (Zucchini) Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This was so good! I never would have guessed that it had zucchini in it. It tasted just like a coconut custard pie. If you buy frozen pie shells, make sure they are the deep dish kind- the regular ones are too small for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I have made this wonderful pie several times and the family loves it. It is frequently requested for family meals in the fall when zucchini is plentiful. One time I prepared it with sweetened condense milk in place of the milk and sugar and it was very good that way also. A great recipe that we will keep in our files for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
HMMMMMM this was good, I have an 8 year old who detests zucchini and loves sweets and didn't detect it but ate it all. I thought it was a little sweet and will next time only put in 2/3 s of a cup of sugar I also tipped all the coconut in the custard and just added a little extra for the top. I served this with cream, YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Loved this recipe! I substituted sucralose for the sugar and used low fat evaporated milk instead of regular milk. The results were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I used this recipe to get rid of some excess zucchini, and I really didn't like it. The flavor was all right, but the texture was not. Perhaps I didn't leave it in my blender long enough to completely liquify it, but I'm not willing to risk it for a second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I was out of vanilla extract so I used almond instead. I made this with a homemade pie crust. It was sooo yummy. My husband didn't believe me that it had Zucchini in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Pretty good, easy on the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
I would give this recipe a 10 if I could. As we are being over run with Zucchini, I am making various recipes. This pie is very simple to make and has a wonderful flavor. It will definitely be on my list for next summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This was the most amazing custard pie. I did put a little less sugar then what the recipe called for but, other than that it was perfect. Everyone loved it! We loved it so much I've made it four times this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
It was very good, although I like a denser custard. Adding the zucchini kinda watered it down a bit for me, although you could not even taste it.Pie had a nice flavor. Just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States