Coconut Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
My husband is from the East Coast where coconut custard pie is popular. Here in the Midwest, coconut cream is the coconut pie of choice. Since I can't purchase a coconut custard pie out here, I have to make them homemade. This one is his favorite so far. It is easy to make and comes out creamy and very tasty. I usually do not have the whipping cream on hand, so I just use one and one half cups of evaporated milk instead of the one cup it calls for. I also use just 1 tsp.of vanilla. I thought the one and a half might be too overpowering. Before putting in the oven, I sprinkle a few tablespoons of coconut on top of the custard. I also sprinkle a little nutmeg on top. Besides tasting great, it looks very appetizing. Hint: brushing your pie crust with a lightly beaten egg white, helps to keep the crust from getting too soggy. Also, I use an unbaked pie crust..saves time and that is what most recipes call for with a custard type pie. Thanks Celia for a great recipe!!! Update: I have begun making this with a total of 3 cups of milk. It seems to make for a bit creamier pie. I used whatever combination of milks/cream I have on hand. Even using 3 cups of whole milk it turns out great. I recently came across a great tip to help you from overcooking your custard. Overcooking it results in it watering out. I now use a quick read thermometer and bake the pie until the center is 160. This has been working out great!!!! So far, no more watered out custard pies. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this pie twice and each time it got rave reviews. I added just a little more vanilla and a bit more than a pinch of nutmeg. There is something I want to mention though. The first time I made this recipe I spilled the filling getting it into the oven. I've since used a 4 cup measuring cup and poured it into the shell on the oven rack. I don't know if anyone else had my experience, just wnated to help anyone who did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stan K
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
Served it at Thanksgiving to Coconut Custard experts. It was fantastic. It was gone after the first round of pie was dished out. I suggest adding a 1/4 to 1/2 more cups of coconut for coconut lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This pie is very easy to make and comes out great! I have tried several coconut custard pie recipes and this one is by far the best - it took a little longer to cook in my oven (closer to an hour) but turned out fantastic and received many compliments. Plus, it only took about 10 minutes to throw all the ingredients together and get the pie in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Very good basic coconut custard recipe. Next time, I think I will add a little more nutmeg, and slighlty more cocunut. I used a unbaked pie crust, and it was fine. I only had to bake it for 45 min. as stated (I was prepared to bake it longer because of some of the other reviews). I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
A very bland recipe. I wouldn't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I felt there was too much coconut, so now I use 3/4 cup instead. There is never any left over the day i make it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
My husband is from the East Coast and he said that it tastes just like his mother's pie when he was a boy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELLEN666
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
What a wonderful creamy pie this is,its so easy to make and the taste is out of this world.I have only ever bought custard pies before but never again this pie is sooooo good.Thank you Celia for sharing this excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This is the first time I made this and it turned out great. I don't like coconut, but I made it for my boyfriend and he loved it, it's his favorite pie. He said it was better than store made. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States