Coconut Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
Served it at Thanksgiving to Coconut Custard experts. It was fantastic. It was gone after the first round of pie was dished out. I suggest adding a 1/4 to 1/2 more cups of coconut for coconut lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I felt there was too much coconut, so now I use 3/4 cup instead. There is never any left over the day i make it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
I was looking for a coconut custard pie recipe and wanted one that would not only taste great but be easy to throw together. This is it. I have already made it three times. I followed the recipe as stated and each time it turned out perfect for taste and texture. Don't pass this one up if you are looking for a tasty, no hassle coconut custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
My husband is from the East Coast where coconut custard pie is popular. Here in the Midwest, coconut cream is the coconut pie of choice. Since I can't purchase a coconut custard pie out here, I have to make them homemade. This one is his favorite so far. It is easy to make and comes out creamy and very tasty. I usually do not have the whipping cream on hand, so I just use one and one half cups of evaporated milk instead of the one cup it calls for. I also use just 1 tsp.of vanilla. I thought the one and a half might be too overpowering. Before putting in the oven, I sprinkle a few tablespoons of coconut on top of the custard. I also sprinkle a little nutmeg on top. Besides tasting great, it looks very appetizing. Hint: brushing your pie crust with a lightly beaten egg white, helps to keep the crust from getting too soggy. Also, I use an unbaked pie crust..saves time and that is what most recipes call for with a custard type pie. Thanks Celia for a great recipe!!! Update: I have begun making this with a total of 3 cups of milk. It seems to make for a bit creamier pie. I used whatever combination of milks/cream I have on hand. Even using 3 cups of whole milk it turns out great. I recently came across a great tip to help you from overcooking your custard. Overcooking it results in it watering out. I now use a quick read thermometer and bake the pie until the center is 160. This has been working out great!!!! So far, no more watered out custard pies. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I tried this recipe and it was great..it was easy and quick to make. My kids just loved it..thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
My husband is from the East Coast and he said that it tastes just like his mother's pie when he was a boy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This pie is very easy to make and comes out great! I have tried several coconut custard pie recipes and this one is by far the best - it took a little longer to cook in my oven (closer to an hour) but turned out fantastic and received many compliments. Plus, it only took about 10 minutes to throw all the ingredients together and get the pie in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was an excellent recipe and fast. The only problem was it took between 45-55 minutes to bake. I surely will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Very good basic coconut custard recipe. Next time, I think I will add a little more nutmeg, and slighlty more cocunut. I used a unbaked pie crust, and it was fine. I only had to bake it for 45 min. as stated (I was prepared to bake it longer because of some of the other reviews). I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTLES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was so easy and it came out perfect! For me, it had just the right amount of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States