Coconut Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This pie turned out great. Following the advice of others I added a little more coconut. Next time I might add a splash of coconut extract to liven it up more. Great pie! YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Did not like this recipe. I made it for my husband, the coconut lover. He said it was too "eggy" and not sweet enough. I agreed, the custard portion was too gelatinous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Prince George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I cooked for 50 minutes in unbaked shell. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was a good coconut custard pie. I love coconut but I have to agree with previous member who said it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is very good. Maybe it could use a bit more coconut. It is a very rich pie, but also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anderson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Really easy to make. I forgot the Whipping cream but it turned out awesome. It did seem to overflow in the pie crust though and I suggest leaving it in the oven for about 10-15 minutes more. Other wise it was excellent and everyone loved it! I even made a different recipe so we had a taste test and this one won hands down! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I have been making this pie for years for my husband, and this is the first chance I've gotten to rate it. Of all of his pies, this is his favorite. He can't get enough of this, and begs me to make it in the "off" season. it's definitely become a holiday staple at our house, and an added benefit, is you can use the filling in custard cups, instead of a pie crust for your more elegant dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This is really good and super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this pie twice and each time it got rave reviews. I added just a little more vanilla and a bit more than a pinch of nutmeg. There is something I want to mention though. The first time I made this recipe I spilled the filling getting it into the oven. I've since used a 4 cup measuring cup and poured it into the shell on the oven rack. I don't know if anyone else had my experience, just wnated to help anyone who did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stan K

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States