Coconut Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was my first attempt at a coconut custard pie. It was easy and delish! It was a big hit at Thanksgiving. I will definitely make again. No need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Oh. My. Gosh. I LOVE this pie. I love coconut cream, but had never had or made a custard pie, and it turned out perfect. The tips in the reviews about cooking to a temp of 160° were perfect. I was searching for recipes to use up milk, so I used 3 cups of milk milking ended up having too much for one pie and not enough for two, so I made some more and ended up having three. I took one to my event, shared one with my family and ate the third by myself... -_- I used fine grated coconut so it floated while baking, making an awesome 2 layer custard. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I cut down on sugar thinking that it's going to be too much since I used sweetened coconut; but once cooked, it needs an additional sugar. Next time I'll follow the right amt. of sugar. I will also cut down on milk/cream next time since following the recipe yielded too much for just 1 pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I used evaporated milk, whipping cream and half and half (3 cups total). A tad more nutmeg, cinnamon and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Very easy and good. Pie did take about an hour to bake. Has anyone tried to substitute coconut milk for the whole milk? Just an idea. I did not use any nutmeg, as I really don't like it and also didn't think it was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Mine is in the oven now so I can't review the results until later. However, if you use more milk and more coconut like some of the reviewers suggest, you'll need another pie shell. I have way too much filling. I poured it in a small bowl and am cooking it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Nice little pie. Being a diabetic, I made some changes to try to lower the carb and fat count. I substituted a low cal sugar blend for whole sugar, used skim milk instead of whole, used a lite version of whipped cream, and used fat free evaporated milk instead of the higher fat regular. The pie came out just fine. My husband loves custards, and he couldn't tell that I made the ingredient alterations and really enjoyed it. These small substitutions allow me to a slice satisfies my sweet tooth! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Marcy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
The only comparison I have is Entenmanns's! but I really didn't like this. It was so eggy or something...... I really love coconut custard. I have to find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I did not alter any ingredients, and this pie is to die for! However ... be patient and wait until it's cold to try it. MUCH better that way! I did use an UNBAKED deep dish pie crust (which it filled nicely) and found that it took more like 45 to 50 minutes to bake. I live at 5,000 feet, so that may have been due to the altitude. I had never made a coconut custard pie before now, and have always loved the Sara Lee version ... but this is SO much better! And EXTREMELY easy. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Much better tasting and general consistency than other pies just using milk. Best recipe I've found on this site for Coconut custard pie. You can always add more coconut if you like, but we found this to be just the right amount. Great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States