Coconut Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
The first time I baked this it didn't come out terrific but I decided to try it again and I made my own adjustments. The first time it tasted very eggy so I used 3 eggs this time. I also used 1 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half and half, omitting 1/2 cup. It seemed that there was too much filling the first time I made it also. I also used only 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup. I added a little bit of cinnamon as well as the nutmeg. It came out great this time. My brother-in-law loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Very nice "classic" coconut custard pie with a hint of vanilla and nutmeg. For a creamy and rich filling that will fit perfectly into the pie shell, cut the milk to 2 cups (better yet, use 1 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half and half or heavy cream. The pie was set after 30 minutes of baking but I left it in the oven for 3 minutes longer to brown a bit more. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This pie was delicious. Not overly "eggy" just a nice creamy custard. I used coconut milk in place of the milk called for in the recipe, and I sprinkled more coconut on top when the pie had baked about halfway. Very easy to do. I will be tinkering with this recipe - but it is great as is. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
YUMMY!!! It was my first time baking a custard pie and I found this recipe to be easy to follow. I think next time I will toast the coconut to give it an even better taste. Thanks Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Fantastic!! And sooo easy. I always find that I have too much filling for a deep 9" inch crust, though. Milk content should be reduced a little. I've even substited soy milk as an alternative, and although the color varied a little, it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Wonderful! I've never amde any kind of a custard pie & the consistency of this recipe was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
It is very tasty and has a strong coconut flavor. I used homemade crust, three eggs, half cup of sugar and coconut and slighty less than two cups of milk - it was enough for one pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I was looking for an easy coconut custard pie recipe for this Thanksgiving. I don't think it can get any easier than this. It has a nice flavor and also has a nice moist texture. I've brought two "test" pies to my job and everyone enjoyed them. The only thing is there is extra filling and the cooking time for me was more like 40-45 minutes. Bottom line, this is a good pie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I am a coconut custard nut and this recipe is GREAT! I added a little almond extract and some sliced almonds to it,and it was perfect! I also had some of the mixture left over. It was just enough to fill two small remkins. My husband and I had desert that night and pie for Thanks Giving. This ones a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Too much coconut. Other than that, it's great. Very easy & tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States