Coconut Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This came out really good. I was a bit nervous because when you combine all the ingrediants, it was very soupy. I had to be very careful when pouring the mixture into the crust because on false move and it would have spilled. The result? Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ridgefield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
this pie was awesome but i don't like the taste of milk and eggs so i change the mlik amount to 1 1/3 cups of milk and1/3cup of heavy cream it is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Simple and wonderful. I used cinnamon and fresh coconut. (I live in the South Pacific so a new way to use all our coconuts is very welcome!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I tried this twice and it did not work at all. I had to throw both pies out. They just did not set. Since making them I've read many more user reviews and saw that someone left the pie in for 45 minutes. Maybe that's what I needed to do, but the crust was starting to turn black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Very good baxic, old fashioned pie-my 90 year old Gram loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I've made this a few times now and it has always come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I followed the other reviews' suggestion of using 1 1/2 cups milk. Unfortunatly, this recipe didn't work for me. The coconut and cinnamon rose to the top and I had an egg layer on the bottom. I also got a very soggy crust. Although I think this resulted from putting the pie in the fridge before it completely cooled(Water condensed in the hot pie).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I made this pie for Easter and it was mediocre. Too much of an egg and nutmeg taste. Would definitely toast the coconut first if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
The first time I baked this it didn't come out terrific but I decided to try it again and I made my own adjustments. The first time it tasted very eggy so I used 3 eggs this time. I also used 1 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half and half, omitting 1/2 cup. It seemed that there was too much filling the first time I made it also. I also used only 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup. I added a little bit of cinnamon as well as the nutmeg. It came out great this time. My brother-in-law loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Very nice "classic" coconut custard pie with a hint of vanilla and nutmeg. For a creamy and rich filling that will fit perfectly into the pie shell, cut the milk to 2 cups (better yet, use 1 1/2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half and half or heavy cream. The pie was set after 30 minutes of baking but I left it in the oven for 3 minutes longer to brown a bit more. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States