Coconut Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe!!! The ratings were good. I love coconut custard pie. I moved to FL from NY and cannot get decent baked goods down here, so things that I really like, I make myself. The filling was just ok, not as good as I expected. As advised by some other raters I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup. That made the sweetness just right. I used 1 1/2 cups of whole milk and a half cup of cream. It fit into the pie shell perfectly. I cooked it for the specified time at the specified temperature and it was set and looked beautiful. However, upon tasting, the filling was almost too hard, dry and solid, not softer and creamy. However, it looked perfectly cooked. Very pretty and golden brown. I used a Marie Callandars's frozen pie shell. I don't know if it was the pie shell or the recipe, but the sides and bottom of the shell were raw. It was cooked perfectly on the top. The edges of the crust were a golden brown and that part of the crust was perfect and tasted great. The filling was solid, so the pie was cooked through. My mother used to bake coconut custard when I was young and she used a frozen pie shell and there weren't any issues. Her pie came out perfect. Any ideas why the pie filling would be cooked, the edge of the crust perfect and the pie shell be almost raw? I cooked it at the temperature and time specified. If someone can make a suggestion to correct that problem, I will probably give it another whirl. I'm really looking for a good custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Not a fan. To custardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickolemyers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
The only change I made was add more coconut and it came out wonderful. Excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great pie and easy to make. I cut the milk to 2 cups however there was still slightly too much liquid and I had a bit of spillage in the oven. Wonderful taste, very creamy and not eggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Made adjustments...the first time I made this, it tasted like eggnog, so following some of the other reviews, I made a few adjustments. Only used 3 eggs and 1/8 tsp of nutmeg. Also, instead of vanilla extract, I used 1 tsp of coconut extract. Regarding the milk, I used 1 cup of 1% milk, and 1 cup of light cream. Pie was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjsto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
My new go to for Coconut Custard. I prefer cinnamon over nutmeg, personal preference. I've used this recipe more than once and it's always a hit, cinnamon and nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
texture didn't come out right, maybe my fault but still a waste of ingredients. Even coconut lovers thought the amount of coconut was too much and too chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This is delicious and simple to make. The custard is thick and creamy. I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I made this as dessert for Valentines dinner. I'm not fond of coconut, but hubby said it was excellent, and it's his favorite kind of pie, so I'll trust his judgement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Fast, Easy, and Delicious. The only change I made was to reduce the sugar to a half cup. I don't like anything to sweet. This pie was a real crowd pleaser. Will make again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dgenco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States