Coconut Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made two of these pies for an office holiday party (one for dessert, one as my contribution to the gift exchange). In what I feared would be a major screw-up, I did not heat the milk separately, as the recipe directs, but was counseled by my pastry-chef sister that I could proceed nonetheless. They were in the oven about twenty minutes longer (ten minutes at 350, the last ten minutes at 400) than the recipe prescribed, but a knife finally emerged clean). By the way, I also used half-and-half in lieu of the called-for milk, substituted almond extract for half of the called-for vanilla, and reduced the sugar somewhat. Sprinkled pies with a bit of nutmeg, along with a "garnish" of additional coconut before baking. They were fine (at least the one that got eaten at the party was!) Both texture and flavor were perfect. Apparently a very forgiving recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is a good base recipe that gives you a very good pie. I made it this Thanksgiving. Substituted heavy cream for milk. Added 1 extra egg yolk and used the extra egg white to paint the pie crust before baking. Almond extract is a must. I took another reviewer's advice and substituted in 1/4 tsp of almond extract, using only 3/4 tsp of vanilla extract. To temper the eggs, add 2-3 tbsp of hot liquid to eggs gradually and whisking constantly. Then you can just pour the eggs in the saucepan and keep stirring. Added my coconut after the custard was in the shell. Delicious!!! I also made good use of the extra pie filling by baking it for 10 minutes in glass custard cups. You can't beat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I was looking for a good recipe for coconut custard pie and, after making this one, will look no further. This was delicious! I tented the pie about halfway through the cooking time to keep the crust from burning. I removed the foil tent after the allotted time and cooked the pie an extra 5 to 7 minutes. Thanks, Susan, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Suches, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Hi. Made this pie for Easter 2011. Being a baker, I took advice from other reviews: cut liquid to 2c (1c. milk/1c.heavy cream); used 1/2 c. sugar & took closer to 40 min. to bake (cover crust w/ foil if it looks like it's browning too much). I ALSO USED UNSWEETENED COCONUT. I don't like the sweetened stuff. My family (bunch o' bakers) really enjoyed this pie. Creamy, sweet enough & a little bite to the coconut. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Just what I was craving. I used a frozen deep dish pie shell and followed the suggestions of reducing the milk to 2 cups and using only 3 eggs. Otherwise, there definitely would have been too much filling to fit in the pie shell. I added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and cinnamon and found that it had a flavor similar to a rice pudding (but with coconut). I reserved a little of the coconut to sprinkle on top about 20 minutes into the baking time, which toasted nicely on top. Flavor and texture were great - a rich custard, not too sweet, plenty of coconut flavor. My pie needed almost 40 minutes of bake time to fully set and I had to cover the crust the last 15 minutes or so to keep it from overbaking. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used 1 1/2 cups of 2% milk, and a 1/2 cup of heavy cream. I also cut the sugar down to 2 cups. Used cinnamon. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Having never made or even tasted a coconut cream pie My dad asked for one instead of his Birthday cake. I replaced 1/2 cup of milk with some half and half that needed to be used. He loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Easy and luscious! This takes less time than baking a frozen ready-made like Mrs. Smith's, and is a THOUSAND times better. Everything is on hand. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and the pie emerged after 30 minutes a picture of perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjns
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe!!! The ratings were good. I love coconut custard pie. I moved to FL from NY and cannot get decent baked goods down here, so things that I really like, I make myself. The filling was just ok, not as good as I expected. As advised by some other raters I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup. That made the sweetness just right. I used 1 1/2 cups of whole milk and a half cup of cream. It fit into the pie shell perfectly. I cooked it for the specified time at the specified temperature and it was set and looked beautiful. However, upon tasting, the filling was almost too hard, dry and solid, not softer and creamy. However, it looked perfectly cooked. Very pretty and golden brown. I used a Marie Callandars's frozen pie shell. I don't know if it was the pie shell or the recipe, but the sides and bottom of the shell were raw. It was cooked perfectly on the top. The edges of the crust were a golden brown and that part of the crust was perfect and tasted great. The filling was solid, so the pie was cooked through. My mother used to bake coconut custard when I was young and she used a frozen pie shell and there weren't any issues. Her pie came out perfect. Any ideas why the pie filling would be cooked, the edge of the crust perfect and the pie shell be almost raw? I cooked it at the temperature and time specified. If someone can make a suggestion to correct that problem, I will probably give it another whirl. I'm really looking for a good custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Not a fan. To custardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickolemyers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States