Coconut Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made a few adjustments. I doubled the recipe. I put in 2 1\2 cups of milk and 1 cup almond milk, 6 eggs, almond extract, sweetend coconut, 1\4c sugar, 1tbs cinnamon, and no nutmeg. It came out as a more coconuty custard, but that what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Made this and everyone loved it. Made exactly to recipe and it fit beautifully in deep dish pie pan. Only thing I might do is try to substitute coconut milk for some of regular.Also in deep dish did have to bake a little longer. Will be making this again and probably again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Warnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Wayyy too much liquid (this recipe might've been for a deep dish?); I had to tinker with this recipe a lot (reduced sugar and used 1c coconut milk and 1c regular milk) and ended up wasting a lot of the filling because it was too much, but in the end it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franchely Portorreal

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I read the reviews & used 1 1/2 C non fat milk, 1/2 C non fat half & half, 3 eggs & 1 egg yolk & 1/2 C sugar. A deicious custard pie with coconut. This completley filled a Marie Callendar's deep dish frozen pie crust. It took about 40 min to bake in my oven. Easy to make & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by Alethea
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
So Delicious! I followed the reviewers to only use 1.5 cups of milk amd then .5 cups of heavy cream. I had way too much custard that it spilled out of the pie dish when I moved it from the countertop to the oven. :-( It was really messy. I think the next time I make this I will use a deep dish pie crust. Also after 20 minutes of baking the crust was starting too brown too fast so I did use aluminum foil. I shared this pie with my family and they loved it. One thing that I did was use nutmeg and cinnamon. Yummy creamy pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Excellent. I sprinkled a little nutmeg on top prior to baking. I had to bake another 10 minutes, after 30 minutes I put the temp down to 375 and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I really love this recipe. I use pumpkin pie creamer in place of the half and half and it turns out great. Very easy pie to make. I used more coconut then the recipe called for on one occassion and then I used the amount as stated. I prefer using the recipes amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was sooo good-- easy to make, nice and creamy and not too eggy tasting. The coconut taste was just right. I followed the recipe exactly. The next time, I'll chop the coconut up a little so that I won't have stringy pieces. I was concerned when I put it in the oven because the filling was so thin. It could have been my oven, but I had to bake an extra 15 minutes. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
My daughter was bugging me to make her a pumpkin pie last night but looked in the pantry an seen i was out Of pumpkin so i decided to make a coconut pie i seen this.recip an thought id give it a try so glad i did!! It was Delicious!! Very creamy am so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner exactly as outlined and ended up eating it for breakfast. The best part was the baking time was fast enough that I had another one made by the time company arrived. They never even noticed, but I can say it was the first pie to disappear! Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States