Coconut Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Made this and everyone loved it. Made exactly to recipe and it fit beautifully in deep dish pie pan. Only thing I might do is try to substitute coconut milk for some of regular.Also in deep dish did have to bake a little longer. Will be making this again and probably again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Warnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Wayyy too much liquid (this recipe might've been for a deep dish?); I had to tinker with this recipe a lot (reduced sugar and used 1c coconut milk and 1c regular milk) and ended up wasting a lot of the filling because it was too much, but in the end it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franchely Portorreal

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I read the reviews & used 1 1/2 C non fat milk, 1/2 C non fat half & half, 3 eggs & 1 egg yolk & 1/2 C sugar. A deicious custard pie with coconut. This completley filled a Marie Callendar's deep dish frozen pie crust. It took about 40 min to bake in my oven. Easy to make & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by Alethea
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
So Delicious! I followed the reviewers to only use 1.5 cups of milk amd then .5 cups of heavy cream. I had way too much custard that it spilled out of the pie dish when I moved it from the countertop to the oven. :-( It was really messy. I think the next time I make this I will use a deep dish pie crust. Also after 20 minutes of baking the crust was starting too brown too fast so I did use aluminum foil. I shared this pie with my family and they loved it. One thing that I did was use nutmeg and cinnamon. Yummy creamy pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Excellent. I sprinkled a little nutmeg on top prior to baking. I had to bake another 10 minutes, after 30 minutes I put the temp down to 375 and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I really love this recipe. I use pumpkin pie creamer in place of the half and half and it turns out great. Very easy pie to make. I used more coconut then the recipe called for on one occassion and then I used the amount as stated. I prefer using the recipes amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was sooo good-- easy to make, nice and creamy and not too eggy tasting. The coconut taste was just right. I followed the recipe exactly. The next time, I'll chop the coconut up a little so that I won't have stringy pieces. I was concerned when I put it in the oven because the filling was so thin. It could have been my oven, but I had to bake an extra 15 minutes. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
My daughter was bugging me to make her a pumpkin pie last night but looked in the pantry an seen i was out Of pumpkin so i decided to make a coconut pie i seen this.recip an thought id give it a try so glad i did!! It was Delicious!! Very creamy am so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner exactly as outlined and ended up eating it for breakfast. The best part was the baking time was fast enough that I had another one made by the time company arrived. They never even noticed, but I can say it was the first pie to disappear! Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Really liked this pie! Very easy and yummy results. I did 1 1/2 cups of milk and 1 cup of half & half, both cinnamon and nutmeg. Very creamy texture and set beautifully. Homemade pie crust just made it that much better. I did bake it for 40 - 45 minutes to make sure it set. Will definately make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States