Coconut Custard Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The custard was delicious. Excellent coconut flavor and nice creamy custard. The topping does really make it, so don't skip that step. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because my pie crust came out soggy. I used a frozen crust and there was liquid at the bottom of the pan that made the crust too wet. I don't know if that is due to the crust I chose or if i did something wrong. I would definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Awful. I followed this recipe to a tee- the night before Thanksgiving. It needed 10 more minutes, like other reviews said. Then I put it in to broil the top for 2 minutes and the entire pie burned to a crisp. My husband and I tried a slice with the burnt edges/top removed and found the custard to be runny. Two thumbs down. Awful, awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The milk was way too much for my standard deep dish pie. It turned out curdled. Not smooth at all. The toasted coconut everyone raved about ain't all that. Nothing special at all since most of it just comes off the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Taste and texture are BAR NONE, the best I've ever had, much less made myself! I did have to cook the pie an additional 10-15 minutes at a lower temp (350) until the custard set. I will add a little more coconut to the custard next time, and I will make sure the pie is refrigerated for many hours before broiling the topping and serving. I enjoyed the topping *very* much. The brown sugar adds a little different flavor to a pie that can be "boring". Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was a great tasting pie. I served it for Thanksgiving last year & everyone said it was the best coconut pie they ever had. However I did need to increase the cooking time by approx 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Could NOT wait to make this and then could NOT wait to eat it and now can NOT wait to make it again and share it with my entire clan!! This is absolutely spectacular. I made NO changes except baked about 5 minutes longer - perhaps oven variation. LOVE coconut so lined pie crust with extra coconut and added just a bit more than recipe called for AND used coconut milk equal parts with whole milk in recipe. OMG this recipe is such a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plymieprincess
Home Town: Plymouth, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
We LOVE this! It is easy and turns out great. The topping is to die for ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I love this recipe!!! Follow the directions. You may have yo leave it in the oven for a few more minutes depending on how your oven cooks. This is so easy and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
A few changes: 2 C only coconut milk instead of regular milk. 1 C coconut in mixture, 1 C on top! Don't burn top! It broils SO QUICK!!! YUMMY. Made for my father-in-laws birthday-his favorite! It was GONE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SL Gemmill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I don't really cook much but I wanted to make something special for my Mom on Mother's Day. I found this recipe and "wah - lah"! Now I'm a cook! I used two 9" pie shells and cooked each at 20 minutes with extra coconut in the filling, and a little less milk and sugar. Came out wonderful! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States