Coconut Custard Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
The taste was great, I was disappointed that there was way more custard than coconut. Next time I will reduce custard, and increase coconut. Love the crispy top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Ok, so I made a few changes... But only to tweak what I think was already a great recipe. First, I added an extra yolk in the custard mix, only because I wanted to "paint" the unbaked crust with egg white before I filled it, as another reviewer had suggested, (but then I forgot to do that). I also substituted one-quarter tsp of almond with for equal amount of the vanilla, to subtly enhance the coconut flavor. Because I had it in the fridge already, I used a quarter-cup of heavy cream in the milk. Oh ... I also did not use the broiled topping ... just didn't think it needed it ... but I think the next time I will sprinkle the filled crust with a healthy dose of coconut before sliding the pie into the oven. My custard nicely filled a deep-dish pan and needed about ten extra minutes of baking time to come out perfect. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
The best i added a little nutmeg and cinnamon. My family loved will be making this from now on. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Glad I read other peoples comments. Cooking time was definately wrong. I had to double the cooking time. Plus, no one liked the topping. The next time I made this I did not use the topping and used light cream instead of milk. It was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I was very excited to do my very first pie and it was delicious. The appeareance was great the only thing that it was ust alittle too wet. I defintely would do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbienfred
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. Maybe I expected more from all the rave reviews but I think it lacked something and I am not sure what that is. It was good but, again, I guess I expected more in the way of taste which was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Excellent. So easy, so delicious - the carmelizing is the best. Thanks. Making 2 for Thanksgiving now by request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
The best custard pie EVER! Made for my mother-in-law. She carried a piece home for her husband in her carry on luggage! Good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
We've tried several coconut custard pies, and this one is our favorite. The topping really makes it! (just be careful to watch the pie as you broil the topping, as it burns quickly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I was kind of leery of this recipe. Especially since I couldn't find my other 9" pie plate and had to use the 12". I snuck a small piece out (before adding the topping) and thought 'Meh'. But the topping totally makes this yummy! It's crunchy and sweet, smells heavenly, and everyone at our shindig loved it. This was really simple to put together. There's not much call at our home for coconut anything, but it's something I can take to parties with confidence. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KieshaMessina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States