Coconut Custard Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Yummy! Cut milk to 2 cups and let it go longer, still wasn't quite as stiff as I like it but what a great flavor. My husband loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
delicious pie!! i reduced the white sugar by half and used 1.75 cups of milk and .5 cups of heavy cream instead, cooked a bit longer than the recipe called out. but the coconut topping made it!! was a hit with everyone! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Made this using coconut milk what a pie!!!! my family Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very good but sweet. Might want to cut back on the sugar a little bit. The coconut and brown sugar topping makes it to sweet or use unsweetened coconut on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
My picky father in law loves coconut custard and I made this for him for father's day. Everyone thought it was the best pie they've ever had. The last touch with the sugar and coconut definitely put the icing in the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
My first coconut custard pie and certainly not my last. I've made four and they all came out delicious. This is a great simple recipe. Yes custard can be intimidating because no one wants to over cook custard. But as long as you pay attention and are mindful of how your oven bakes you wont have any problems with this recipe. Awesome. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterbean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
1st homemade pie that I have ever made. Thanks for the recipe, everyone loved it just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I make this pie often. Everyone raves about it, especially the delicious topping. The only changes I have made are: add 1/2 cup less milk and bake about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Made this pie for Easter this year. My dad loves, loves, loves coconut custard pie and said this was one of the better ones he has ever tasted. We used 4 Jumbo Eggs, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 teaspoon almond extracts. Used 2 cups milk/cream (1 cup coconut milk, 1/2 cup heavy cream & 1/2 cup 2% milk) instead of 2 1/2 cups total. Also used a little over 1 cup of coconut in the custard and left the topping at 1/2 cup and baked in a deep dish pie pan. It did take approx 40 min to bake and had to cover the crust after 25 minutes to prevent burning. Excellent and everyone really enjoyed it. Will make this one every Easter! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This pie was delicious! I added about 1/4 cup finely chopped pecans to mixture and poured into two 8-inch pie crusts. It didn't look very pretty, so I didn't expect my (very visual) husband to eat it. However, he tasted it and loved it- then, went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States