Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I just made this pie and since some reviews said it was sweet I decreased the sugar to 1 cup I also made it with half & half and I used the coconut flakes that I already had which was sweetened. This pie was still way to sweet. I guess I will try it again and just use 1/2 cup of sugar. I would still use the sweetened coconut cause I cant imagine unsweetened. If this pie wasn't so sweet it would have been delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is an excellent pie, very easy and was a big hit with my partner and our dinner guests. I did however cut down the sugar to 1 cup and it was perfect. I am making a couple more for a holiday party this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My family devoured it, I used fat free milk and less sugar then the recipe called for, added some cinnamon and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
After altering the recipe a little, (half & half instead of milk & 3/4 cup sugar) this recipe was great tasting and easy to make! I made it for my mom's 50th Birthday, her favorite kind of pie that she hadn't had in over 30 years... what a challenge this would be, I thought ( I cook... but am not much of a baker...to say the least). What a fabulous outcome! Even made my dad proud !!!!(pie making is a dying art in my family that he has completely mastered... the women who cook and alter recipes tend not to do so well in this department, but this was a real winner!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
It took a lot longer to set than what the recipe said. Still a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Most delicious !!!! And that's what everyone replies once they've had a bite. I didn't add the last of the coconut(topping) I thought there was enough with each mouthful, still I loved this pie. I ate one all by myself!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I liked the taste but it took alot longer to bake and still, after 60+ mins. was a little watery in the middle. I was afraid I'd messed up, but after checking it again, I followed it to the letter. Hope others have better luck with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I agree with the last poster. I tried this recipe and it was really sweet. Too sweet. So I tried it again and cut the sugar from 1 1/2 cups to 3/4 of a cup and it came out just right. It is a good recipe and easy. I made the two pies the second time with the sugar cut and eveyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Incredibly easy, quick, and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Well, it took a LOT longer than 40 mins to bake this pie. Try more like 2 and 1/2 hours. It was not as creamy and thick as I would think a coconut custard pie should be. IF I try it again, I will use heavy whipping cream instead of milk. I have another recipe for custard, I may use that and just add the coconut. Also, I wouls use less sugar. Way too sweet. Maybe try 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States