Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Really good. Use less sugar and a dash of allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe is great, however 1 1/2 cups of sugar is way too much. I reduce to 1 cup and sometimes I use evaporated milk or heavy cream - they both come out excellent. I also use a deep dish pie crust, a regular pie crust would produce two pies for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
too sweet too much butter made crust soggy needed more eggs for more custard and a little more flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Gorgeous pie...warm or cold, it's the new family favorite. I decreased the sugar to slightly under a cup, (90% of a cup of sugar). I also added a little more coconut (1/4th of a cup) and it turned out perfect. I've tried several coconut pie recipes and this is the best one yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollygagger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I personally did not like this recipe. I took tips from others by reducing the sugar to 3/4cup, using sweet condensed milk and coconut milk instead of regular milk but it was still just too sweet for me. I also feel that it was way to greasy and should have taken someones comment about reducing the butter to 2tbsp. instead of 1/2cup or just not using butter at all. I also feel that it just quite didn't have that authentic custard texture, should've probably used 3 eggs instead of 2. Overall I feel that it is a simple base recipe to have an idea of what is needed for a coconut custard pie. I am going just have to play around with it a bit to get this right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdimartini69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Much too sweet. No one liked it... Had to throw it away. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I'm getting ready to make this for the third time. It's an amazing and easy recipe just the way it is, but if you think it's too sweet, cut back on the sugar a bit. I do need to add that I only used two percent milk instead of whole milk the last time I made it. I couldn't tell a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was really very easy and turned out great. I had my doubts with the other reviews, but it turned out surprisingly yummy. I used 1/2 cup sugar and sweetened coconut. I also substituted 1/2 cup of coconut milk. Next time I'd use less butter (it was a little greasy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Fantabulous Recipe!! And so easy to make -- tastes Wonderful! Just what I love, quick, easy, and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Took forever to set and was so brown it looked like a pecan pie. Tasty, but maybe it needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States