Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Gorgeous pie...warm or cold, it's the new family favorite. I decreased the sugar to slightly under a cup, (90% of a cup of sugar). I also added a little more coconut (1/4th of a cup) and it turned out perfect. I've tried several coconut pie recipes and this is the best one yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollygagger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I personally did not like this recipe. I took tips from others by reducing the sugar to 3/4cup, using sweet condensed milk and coconut milk instead of regular milk but it was still just too sweet for me. I also feel that it was way to greasy and should have taken someones comment about reducing the butter to 2tbsp. instead of 1/2cup or just not using butter at all. I also feel that it just quite didn't have that authentic custard texture, should've probably used 3 eggs instead of 2. Overall I feel that it is a simple base recipe to have an idea of what is needed for a coconut custard pie. I am going just have to play around with it a bit to get this right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdimartini69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Much too sweet. No one liked it... Had to throw it away. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I'm getting ready to make this for the third time. It's an amazing and easy recipe just the way it is, but if you think it's too sweet, cut back on the sugar a bit. I do need to add that I only used two percent milk instead of whole milk the last time I made it. I couldn't tell a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was really very easy and turned out great. I had my doubts with the other reviews, but it turned out surprisingly yummy. I used 1/2 cup sugar and sweetened coconut. I also substituted 1/2 cup of coconut milk. Next time I'd use less butter (it was a little greasy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Fantabulous Recipe!! And so easy to make -- tastes Wonderful! Just what I love, quick, easy, and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Took forever to set and was so brown it looked like a pecan pie. Tasty, but maybe it needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I absolutely loved this pie. My family loved this pie however I did alter the recipe. I used condensed milk I used 3/4 of sugar and Coconut milk and i added nutmeg. It came out so good! I would bake this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anamarii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
OMG...SO GOOD...I too subsitude half and half instead of milk. I used everything else in the recipe. It turned out so good,my family ate it all in one night's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Easiest and yummiest coconut pie! I made this after midnight one night-- the prep took 10 minutes, and it baked for 40. It came out perfectly! It's my dad's favorite so I was really glad to find this recipe. I used unsweetened coconut, and I only used about 3/4 cup of sugar. It was still nicely sweet without being overpowering. I also used condensed milk instead of regular and it was very creamy. Will be making this pie a lot now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States