Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, I used skim milk with no issues, I added 1 and 1/4 cups of coconut to the mix. Turn out really good. Super simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Bryson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I feel that it uses too much sugar and not enough eggs. It was too sweet. Also, the consistency is more like that of a pecan pie than a custard. It was not done in 40 or 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Could eat the whole pie at once
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly as stated, came out perfectly. I took it to a party last week and people raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Made this recipe and with a few alterations, this pie was excellent! Even before reading the reviews, I thought that the amount of sugar was way too much. I use sweetened flake coconut so using 1 1/2 cups of sugar was not an option for me. I did take one of the reviewers suggestions and used 3 eggs instead of two. Two eggs just didn't seem to be enough to make a custard. I also added 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon and nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. The pie was perfectly sweet and the almond extract brought the flavor up a notch. I followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. I love coconut custard pie and I will make this recipe again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I loved this recipe but I agreed with a previous baker. since my coconut was presweetened, I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and the butter to 5 tablespoons. I increased the temp to 400 degrees and since I had cut some of the sugar I baked it in an 8"pie pan instead of a 9"pan. it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Really good! I made this for a get-together and everyone adored it; it was devoured within an hour. I did, however, use slightly less than 1 cup of sugar, but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
follow the directions exactly but the pie would not set it was running in the middle don't know what I did wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
First time I made it, it was a little sweet. I adjusted the amount of coconut and it was good. Also a hard time getting it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was a request, I'm not a fan of coconut, but I'm told it is PERFECTION! I read the reviews and reduced the Sugar to 1c and changed the milk to half & half. I also took the advice of others and mixed the ingredients as intended. Then I added tin foil to the crust after 15 minutes. As far as setting? It comes out toothpick clean after 50 minutes but still shifts in the pan, so I let it really set in the fridge overnight. The recipe should really suggest this. It was perfect after that and should be chilled. I just finished mixing another (SO simple & easy) and am licking the bowl myself. It's delicious. Some claimed greasy? I didn't reduce the butter, but I did soften it (leave out or microwave for 10 seconds). I think the greasy taste may be from lumps that settled, then melted when baking. Soften and blend til smooth. This worked for me, not greasy AT ALL, just YUMMY! I'm going to try this custard recipe and use blueberries or raspberries instead of the coconut. I think that will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States