Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Well, it took a LOT longer than 40 mins to bake this pie. Try more like 2 and 1/2 hours. It was not as creamy and thick as I would think a coconut custard pie should be. IF I try it again, I will use heavy whipping cream instead of milk. I have another recipe for custard, I may use that and just add the coconut. Also, I wouls use less sugar. Way too sweet. Maybe try 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This pie was way too sweet. This was my first attempt at making a custard pie but it seemed to take longer then the specified time to get the pie to set. Next time I will look for a recipe with less sugar. Maybe I did something wrong since it was my first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I found this pie to be most delicious, and I'm not a coconut fan. I used 1 cup of sugar, and maybe next time I might use heavy cream instead of milk to give the custard a bit more body. All my friends are begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
OUTSTANDING! This is the first time I have had someone ask to take home a piece of pie. Thank you for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I attempted to make this recipe for the first time today and was disappointed with the results. However, I believe it was more of user error. I followed all the steps exactly and the pie looked fine going into the oven. But after 50 minutes and a very brown shell...the pie still had not set. I used 2% milk which I don't know if this recipe was intended for whole milk. I will try this again with whole milk to see if this corrects the problem. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
Really way too sweet, but still good. Just be ABSOLUTLY sure you blend the butter & sugar together BEFORE you add the eggs when making this pie.It comes out wit an odd texture if you add everything at the same time. I made that BIG mistake. It tasted fine, but was weird to eat. I'm sure it would've been awsome if I hadn't -- Truely a great recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This pie was wonderful. I got so many rave reviews that I am making it as a pie choice for my daughter's third birthday party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorkville, New York, USA
Living In: New York Mills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I felt like I should have eaten it for breakfast it was soooo eggy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
It was great. I just used half of the sugar specified on the recipe. I ate the whole pie by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This pie was wonderful !!! I used sweetened flaked coconut and just 1 cup of sugar because I read other reviews saying this pie was too sweet. I found that 1 cup was the perfect sweetness. I brushed the pie crust around the edges with beaten egg (to result in a "pretty" baked crust) and covered the edges with strips of foil after the first 15 minutes of baking (to prevent over browning). The custard is delicious and so EASY to make. It's very very tasty and I will make this again for sure. Thanks, Lesley !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States