Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
After altering the recipe a little, (half & half instead of milk & 3/4 cup sugar) this recipe was great tasting and easy to make! I made it for my mom's 50th Birthday, her favorite kind of pie that she hadn't had in over 30 years... what a challenge this would be, I thought ( I cook... but am not much of a baker...to say the least). What a fabulous outcome! Even made my dad proud !!!!(pie making is a dying art in my family that he has completely mastered... the women who cook and alter recipes tend not to do so well in this department, but this was a real winner!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
It took a lot longer to set than what the recipe said. Still a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Most delicious !!!! And that's what everyone replies once they've had a bite. I didn't add the last of the coconut(topping) I thought there was enough with each mouthful, still I loved this pie. I ate one all by myself!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I liked the taste but it took alot longer to bake and still, after 60+ mins. was a little watery in the middle. I was afraid I'd messed up, but after checking it again, I followed it to the letter. Hope others have better luck with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I agree with the last poster. I tried this recipe and it was really sweet. Too sweet. So I tried it again and cut the sugar from 1 1/2 cups to 3/4 of a cup and it came out just right. It is a good recipe and easy. I made the two pies the second time with the sugar cut and eveyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Incredibly easy, quick, and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Well, it took a LOT longer than 40 mins to bake this pie. Try more like 2 and 1/2 hours. It was not as creamy and thick as I would think a coconut custard pie should be. IF I try it again, I will use heavy whipping cream instead of milk. I have another recipe for custard, I may use that and just add the coconut. Also, I wouls use less sugar. Way too sweet. Maybe try 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This pie was way too sweet. This was my first attempt at making a custard pie but it seemed to take longer then the specified time to get the pie to set. Next time I will look for a recipe with less sugar. Maybe I did something wrong since it was my first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I found this pie to be most delicious, and I'm not a coconut fan. I used 1 cup of sugar, and maybe next time I might use heavy cream instead of milk to give the custard a bit more body. All my friends are begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
OUTSTANDING! This is the first time I have had someone ask to take home a piece of pie. Thank you for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States