Coconut Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I was very disappointed with this pie It look great when it came out of oven I think the ingredients are wrong too much sugar and not enough milk . It was very sweet. It was like eating sugar and coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Great pie. I read the reviews first, and made sure I cut the sugar down to one cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Too sweet? It was disgustingly sweet! And there seemed to be too much butter in it. . .very "greasy." Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I just made this pie and since some reviews said it was sweet I decreased the sugar to 1 cup I also made it with half & half and I used the coconut flakes that I already had which was sweetened. This pie was still way to sweet. I guess I will try it again and just use 1/2 cup of sugar. I would still use the sweetened coconut cause I cant imagine unsweetened. If this pie wasn't so sweet it would have been delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is an excellent pie, very easy and was a big hit with my partner and our dinner guests. I did however cut down the sugar to 1 cup and it was perfect. I am making a couple more for a holiday party this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My family devoured it, I used fat free milk and less sugar then the recipe called for, added some cinnamon and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
After altering the recipe a little, (half & half instead of milk & 3/4 cup sugar) this recipe was great tasting and easy to make! I made it for my mom's 50th Birthday, her favorite kind of pie that she hadn't had in over 30 years... what a challenge this would be, I thought ( I cook... but am not much of a baker...to say the least). What a fabulous outcome! Even made my dad proud !!!!(pie making is a dying art in my family that he has completely mastered... the women who cook and alter recipes tend not to do so well in this department, but this was a real winner!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
It took a lot longer to set than what the recipe said. Still a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Most delicious !!!! And that's what everyone replies once they've had a bite. I didn't add the last of the coconut(topping) I thought there was enough with each mouthful, still I loved this pie. I ate one all by myself!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I liked the taste but it took alot longer to bake and still, after 60+ mins. was a little watery in the middle. I was afraid I'd messed up, but after checking it again, I followed it to the letter. Hope others have better luck with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States