Coconut Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Loved this! I browned the tofu first as well as the mushrooms. I did not have basil, but will add next time for sure!! I will probably boost up the curry too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jerpic
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I've made this recipe about four times now, and it's become one of my favorites. It is fantastic, and is even better the next day after the flavors have had time develop. The only thing I would recommend is to add a little white sugar if you want more of the restaurant style, sweet coconut flavor. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerpic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Hubby and I both liked. Substituted chicken instead of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Great! I used regular coconut milk and substituted with some veggies I had on hand. Peas were a really good addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Well, I kind of made this recipe. I skipped tomatoes, and simply upped the mushrooms and pepper. I also used organic tamari instead of soy sauce, and turbinado sugar which makes this dish pretty well vegan. Even once I'm done with my month-long vegetarian experiment, I'll still make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Meuzelaar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
great flavor! we only had curry paste on hand (rather than powder) and we substituted some of the vegetables for ones we had on hand. and i accidentally left out some of the soy sauce. still, it was excellent. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Whenever I have tried coconut curries at restaurants I couldn't more than a few spoonfuls without getting a stomach ache. The coconut was too strong for my taste. This recipe has it down perfect. I had several cans of regular coconut milk (took out about 1/2 cup of cream) that I needed to use up. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used red cabbage instead of bok choy. It's what I had. Cook it first as it takes longer. I had cauliflower and broccoli so I added that. I used extra firm tofu I had pressed the water out of and baked slowly in the oven spritzed with Braggs Liquid Aminos. It's better for you than soy sauce and you won't be able to tell the difference. You can find it in the natural section of larger grocery stores. I used red curry paste and also so red chili hot oil paste to bring up the heat. You can add just about any vegetable you want. I also added bean sprouts. Just cook the ones that take the longest to cook first. I served this over rice noodles. Quinoa is another good choice and gives a different option than just rice all the time. I also topped it with extra scallions and chopped peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Based on what I had in the kitchen, I used regular onion, powdered ginger, pepper flakes instead of chili paste, spinach instead of bok choy. One day before, I pressed the tofu block and then froze it to get a decent consistency. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is delicious. I do add a little cornstarch so it could be thick. Great with wild rice. Kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States