Coconut Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Loved this! I followed most of the directions. However, I drained, diced my tofu, and then placed it on a cookie sheet in a 175 degree oven for 30 minutes. I then browned it in a pan with coconut oil to give it a nice crispiness. I didn't add tofu into mixture until I added the bok choy. I used Curry Paste in place of curry powder. We also love spicy foods, so I added about 1/2 TB sriracha sauce. Served over Jasmine rice and it was delicious. We are not vegetarians but like to eat vegetarian a few times a week. This is a definite keeper recipe that we both loved. You can easily tweak it to your liking. Thank you very much for sharing! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is a foolproof recipe that has great flavor and makes for fantastic leftovers! Don't leave out the bok choy...it adds a lot to this dish. We left out the chile paste and used green or red curry paste instead, and added a bit of chile powder...great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delish! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this and it was delicious. I cut my tofu into little triangles and dry fried it a bit before making the recipe to try to improve the texture a little and it didn't fall apart as bad as it probably would have. I used regular coconut milk instead of light and a pinch of dried basil instead of fresh because its what I had. Otherwise, followed recipe exactly. It was delicious over jasmine rice! Would definitely make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Delicious recipe! Just the right amount of heat and flavor. Make it as written except I browned the tofu in a thin layer of oil over med-high heat prior to adding. So scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe had such high reviews that I was super excited to try it, but this was a fail for me... If you make it I suggest the following (which I didn't do, but wish I had) 1) stir fry the veggies and spices in one pan 2) bring the wet ingredients to a boil in another pan with a little corn starch to thicken the sauce 3) double or triple the ginger and brown sugar 4) use less than half of the soy sauce and leave out the salt. I also wrapped the tofu in paper towels and placed a weight on top of that for 1 hour to firm it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made this but i dipped the tofu in egg, cornstarch, sugar and deep fried. I only used 1 bunch of green onion, and chopped it all up fine. Than used 2 heaping teaspoons curry powder instead. Didn't bother dividing the soy sauce. A 1 heaping brown sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar, i like sugar. Didn't have chili paste or tomatoes so i used 1/4 cup tomatoe sauce and 2 teaspoons hot sauce. Don't add hot sauce if your curry is "hot" already, i added the hot sauce to my mild curry powder. Didn't have bok choy so i used mostly the white crunchy part of lettuce. The leavy part you can save for salad, serve on side. Didn't have yellow pepper. Used a couple teaspoons of black pepper instead. Didn't have mushrooms so i used red kidney beans instead. Didn't add any basil. Didn't use any salt. It was extra saucy, first bite seemed spicy but it's so good and full of flavor so i served it over rice, soaked up the extra sauce. NO LEFTOVERS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I really don't understand how, but this recipe came out very bland. I didn't make any changes other than searing the tofu and was very surprised at how little it tasted like...well, anything. I guess that is not exactly true, each bite tasted enough like Thai curry at the start to get me excited, then *poof*, flavorless. I'll try one more time, maybe with more curry powder and chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I used the curry as a base, then added tofu and other vegetables ...perfect taste. My family enjoyed, and my daughter who is a Thai food lover asked me what restaurant I ordered my curry from?!!! Thanks for the recipe Kathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nawal F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I changed all the veggies (only had a bag of frozen zucchini and peas, 1 can diced tomatoes, and 1 carrot). I hate soy sauce in curries and subbed in fish sauce (only ~2 tbsp). I realize this makes it less vegan, but meh. I also doubled my curry powder and put in my Vietnamese chili garlic sauce instead of chili paste. Despite all the changes, this came out really tasty and could definitely point newcomers to curry in the right direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States