Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was fantastic - a friend of ours made this soup for my husband and I a few months ago, and this recipe was almost as good as hers. I made the non-vegan version (used butter and chicken broth instead of coconut oil and veggie broth), and it ended up being very good. One difference between this soup and the one my friend made is that she added a little turmeric to hers, which I will try the next time I make the soup - it adds a little extra kick. I recommend topping the soup with flax seeds and pine nuts for a satisfying crunch! It's also nice to serve it with some kind of bread for soaking up every last delicious drop. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I had high hopes for this recipe after reading the reviews. It seemed like the perfect way to use up the leftover pumpkin and coconut milk I had from two other recipes. But it was full-fat coconut milk, and perhaps that was my problem. It was too rich, so even though the flavour was good, there was an overpowering fattiness-- so much so I could hardly finish my small bowl. My recommendation-- do not use full-fat coconut milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was a really good soup. To spice it up a little bit, I added 1/4 tsp ginger and sprinkled in some cinnamon. Also, a dab of sour cream on top made this soup great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yum! I subbed olive oil for the coconut oil, and it was just as delicious. I had lots of people commenting on it and wanting to taste when i brought some to class the next day...and those who did were super impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I made this tonight and my husband loved it! I made it in the crockpot so I wouldn't have to keep an eye on it. Turned out great. Very savory. I'm a fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I absolutely loved this soup. The only changes I made was upping by half every spice except for the salt, and adding 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon and ground ginger. The soup was even better reheated the next day, and was a hit among my friends. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was very tasty as is. I did it again reducing the curry powder to 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon garam masala. Also great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This soup was delicious! I chose this recipe because I love coconut, pumpkin, and curry, and I couldn't have been more pleased with the combination. My housemates and I made a huge pot of it with fresh pumpkins and it went really quickly. Also, what a great recipe to introduce people to vegan fare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Nice base recipe. It was a bit bland and needed to be doctored up. I added more ginger, two basil leaves, a tsp of Peruvian hot pepper sauce and garlic. As a personal preference I like to taste the crunch of the onion and I like how it looks in the soup. And I saved the step of pureeing the mixture and then don't have a blender to clean. A sprinkle of sea salt on the top just prior to serving enhances the flavor. We had this on Halloween and it was appropriately enjoyable for the occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
YUM! Thanks for this great vegan recipe. I used fresh pumpkin, a little extra vegetable broth to water down my full fat coconut milk, and added some turmeric, chili powder, fresh ginger and garam masala. Threw it all in the slow cooker and blended with the immersion blender...a great meal just two hours later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States