Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
loved this soup. I added Cayenne pepper instead of red pepper flakes, and added tons of extra garlic and curry powder (I like spicy), and used olive oil instead of coconut oil (I'm not a fan of coconut oil). I loved this so much I made a double batch the second time 'round. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Fantastic! I along with many others added a dash of ginger and cinnamon just because I like it that way, but the recipe is great as is. I didn't blend it. Maybe once I get an immersion blender I'll do it but I don't think it's worth the hassle with a regular blender and I like the chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I'm not really talented at making soup but this one is divine. Simple and relatively quick to make, I found it rich and hearty. I put 2 cloves of garlic in because I love it and it was pretty peppy. Also I used a hand mixer right in the pot to blend it rather than pouring it in and out of a blender and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great recipe! I did run into one problem - I substituted red curry paste for curry powder, which was delicious flavor-wise, but the curry was much stronger than I anticipated. I used about two teaspoons of the paste, and I actually made the soup so hot I had trouble eating it! I'm sensitive to spicy food though; my hot-food-loving friends who were over for dinner raved about it. (Served it with corn bread by the way - really great combo.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
My pickiest kid liked this. I doubled the curry and coriander and omitted the red pepper. Salted and black peppered to taste at the table. For a family of 5, I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very unusual combination of flavors, but a really nice soup. I love curry and I like the addition of healthy coconut oil! The dash of crushed red pepper flakes gives it just a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I followed the advice of reviews and omitted water. I modified receipe by using 4 cups of chicken broth for liquid, I like spicey so increased garlic a bit and increased ginger. I only like fresh pumpkin and wanted creamier soup so added 4 cups of fresh roasted pumpkin. IT REALLY WORKED! Fresh roasted pumpkin has more texture and water content, this helped with consistancy. It tasted like i came out of professional resturant. Everyone was pleased. Will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was surprisingly good. And I don't like pumpkin anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
YUM! Thanks for this great vegan recipe. I used fresh pumpkin, a little extra vegetable broth to water down my full fat coconut milk, and added some turmeric, chili powder, fresh ginger and garam masala. Threw it all in the slow cooker and blended with the immersion blender...a great meal just two hours later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
amazing! everyone loved this in my family! *didnt used the coconut milk, but skim milk and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States