Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great recipe! I did run into one problem - I substituted red curry paste for curry powder, which was delicious flavor-wise, but the curry was much stronger than I anticipated. I used about two teaspoons of the paste, and I actually made the soup so hot I had trouble eating it! I'm sensitive to spicy food though; my hot-food-loving friends who were over for dinner raved about it. (Served it with corn bread by the way - really great combo.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
My pickiest kid liked this. I doubled the curry and coriander and omitted the red pepper. Salted and black peppered to taste at the table. For a family of 5, I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very unusual combination of flavors, but a really nice soup. I love curry and I like the addition of healthy coconut oil! The dash of crushed red pepper flakes gives it just a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I followed the advice of reviews and omitted water. I modified receipe by using 4 cups of chicken broth for liquid, I like spicey so increased garlic a bit and increased ginger. I only like fresh pumpkin and wanted creamier soup so added 4 cups of fresh roasted pumpkin. IT REALLY WORKED! Fresh roasted pumpkin has more texture and water content, this helped with consistancy. It tasted like i came out of professional resturant. Everyone was pleased. Will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was surprisingly good. And I don't like pumpkin anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
YUM! Thanks for this great vegan recipe. I used fresh pumpkin, a little extra vegetable broth to water down my full fat coconut milk, and added some turmeric, chili powder, fresh ginger and garam masala. Threw it all in the slow cooker and blended with the immersion blender...a great meal just two hours later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
amazing! everyone loved this in my family! *didnt used the coconut milk, but skim milk and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
First vegetarian recipe I ever tried. So very easy and very very good. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarajane
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I love that this recipe calls for coconut oil and milk. Yum! I made this soup before work one morning as I found myself with extra time. I didn't have any coriander and was heavy handed with the crushed red peppers as some reviewers had said the recipe was bland. For some reason I thought it would be a good idea to crock pot it all day and blend it when I got home. Oops. It looked rather over cooked by the time I got home. I blended the cooled the soup and tasted it....and my mouth was on fire! I added another can of coconut milk and a dash of salt and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Yummy and soothing. I wish I had blended down the onions a bit better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States