Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I left out the salt as the vegetable broth already had a little in it and we added 2 cloves of garlic. Everyone loved it. I also added a little extra coconut cream as a garnish as in the photo. I will make this again for Thanksgiving and float some pumpkin seeds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was amazing! I made the non-vegan version: chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, and heavy cream instead of coconut milk just because those were what I had in my cupboards, but I honestly think that following the recipe verbatim would produce equally tasty results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Excellent! The light coconut milk is exactly what my recipe was missing. I used olive oil and chicken broth, and added some ginger and tumeric to spice it up a bit. This is my go-to lunch throughout the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I love this soup! I made a few changes: I only used 2 Tbsp coconut oil and i added about a half can more pumpkin to make it thicker. Also, it definitely doesn't need 1/2 teaspoon salt-- just maybe a smidge at the end. The broth already adds a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Very good, but made changes. No oil, beef stalk (all I had on hand), chili pepper paste instead of flakes, fresh pumpkin, one red bell pepper, one tbsp of coconut milk powder instead of milk, ginger and cinnamon and extra salt to taste. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very good soup, found the curry a bit overpowering so would cut it to 1 tbsp next time. I also prefer a thinner consistency; would either skip the flour/roux step or just add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
You can also substitute the coconut oil with butter or margarine, so tasty that way! Just not calorie-wise. Also if you don't have a blender use onion and garlic powder instead of fresh ingredients. I used 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and 1 tbsp of onion powder. Just whisk vigorously while cooking and it will give a nice thick consistency. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Made this tonight and stayed fairly close to the original recipe. Did not have coriander, so I left it out and threw a bay leaf in to boil.I used an emulsion blender in the pot. My husband who is not a big fan of curry LOVED this and so did I. The amt of crushed red pepper was enough to add a little "heat" but not too much for us. YUMMMM, perfect Fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is a wonderful soup! Very hearty and appealing to most palettes. I've made this twice for the Community Dinner where we live. The kids Love it and so did the adults. With it being vegan and gluten free, there's very little not to love. Bravo and thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly the first time and thought it was delicious. The next time I made it, I added a little more garlic and 1/4 tsp. ground ginger. Before serving, I sprinkled with 1 tablespoon toasted pumpkin seeds and topped it with a spoonful of fat free Greek yogurt. If you use the yogurt, it is no longer vegan. I am a vegetarian, not vegan, so this was OK with me. It gives the soup a creamy, silky texture and provides a nice tang. This is definitely a lovely fall soup with a kick from the spices. I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Petruzzelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States