Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I had chicken stock on hand so I substituted that for the veggie stock. I used butter and olive oil in place of the coconut oil. It worked out really well. In love with this soup. Thanks for the recipe-even though I had to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I was curious about this recipe when I saw it, so I decided to make it today since it is cold and gloomy outside. Its a perfect day for a warm comforting soup. I followed the directions exactly, except for adding 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper instead of flakes and adding a 1/4 tsp of ginger as well. I have never been a big fan of curry, but it is so good with the other flavors here. I love the layers of flavors. I also made cornbread to go with it. I would add, don't rush the 20 minutes of boiling the broth...it really melds the flavors and reduces the soup so it will not be runny. Thanks for the recipe, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonesamy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I used fresh pumpkin and doubled the amount, also added broccoli and carrots, and triple the amount of curry powder. Super delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I left out the salt as the vegetable broth already had a little in it and we added 2 cloves of garlic. Everyone loved it. I also added a little extra coconut cream as a garnish as in the photo. I will make this again for Thanksgiving and float some pumpkin seeds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was amazing! I made the non-vegan version: chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, and heavy cream instead of coconut milk just because those were what I had in my cupboards, but I honestly think that following the recipe verbatim would produce equally tasty results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Excellent! The light coconut milk is exactly what my recipe was missing. I used olive oil and chicken broth, and added some ginger and tumeric to spice it up a bit. This is my go-to lunch throughout the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I love this soup! I made a few changes: I only used 2 Tbsp coconut oil and i added about a half can more pumpkin to make it thicker. Also, it definitely doesn't need 1/2 teaspoon salt-- just maybe a smidge at the end. The broth already adds a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Very good, but made changes. No oil, beef stalk (all I had on hand), chili pepper paste instead of flakes, fresh pumpkin, one red bell pepper, one tbsp of coconut milk powder instead of milk, ginger and cinnamon and extra salt to taste. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very good soup, found the curry a bit overpowering so would cut it to 1 tbsp next time. I also prefer a thinner consistency; would either skip the flour/roux step or just add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
You can also substitute the coconut oil with butter or margarine, so tasty that way! Just not calorie-wise. Also if you don't have a blender use onion and garlic powder instead of fresh ingredients. I used 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and 1 tbsp of onion powder. Just whisk vigorously while cooking and it will give a nice thick consistency. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States