Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was fantastic - a friend of ours made this soup for my husband and I a few months ago, and this recipe was almost as good as hers. I made the non-vegan version (used butter and chicken broth instead of coconut oil and veggie broth), and it ended up being very good. One difference between this soup and the one my friend made is that she added a little turmeric to hers, which I will try the next time I make the soup - it adds a little extra kick. I recommend topping the soup with flax seeds and pine nuts for a satisfying crunch! It's also nice to serve it with some kind of bread for soaking up every last delicious drop. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I am not the most skilled cook, but I thought this soup was very easy to make, and very delicious. I had some rice noodles on hand so when I re-heated the leftovers I added cooked noodles to the soup, and garnished with pine nuts (as suggested by a previous reviewer) and a little bit of fresh cilantro...just because I like it. Very good recipe, I will keep this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
A great recipe for curry lovers! I didn't have coconut oil so I just used olive oil instead. I also used fresh pumpkin and 2 cups of coconut milk. I served in a bread bowl and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was a really good soup. To spice it up a little bit, I added 1/4 tsp ginger and sprinkled in some cinnamon. Also, a dab of sour cream on top made this soup great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This soup was delicious! I chose this recipe because I love coconut, pumpkin, and curry, and I couldn't have been more pleased with the combination. My housemates and I made a huge pot of it with fresh pumpkins and it went really quickly. Also, what a great recipe to introduce people to vegan fare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Tasted just like a restaurant dish. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This very very good. I used chicken broth and hot curry and it was so spicy and flavor filled both my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was very tasty as is. I did it again reducing the curry powder to 1/2 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon garam masala. Also great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Its a great soup if you like curry. It is thick. So a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yum! I subbed olive oil for the coconut oil, and it was just as delicious. I had lots of people commenting on it and wanting to taste when i brought some to class the next day...and those who did were super impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States