Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very tasty soup and so easy to make. I used red pepper flakes to kick up the spice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was phenomenal--a great addition to our christmas dinner. I only made a few changes out of necessity, though I'm not a fan of changing a recipe before trying. I made it in the crockpot by sauteing the onons and garlic first then adding all the ingredients. I omitted the coconut oil (didnt have any) and only used a small mixture of butter/EVOO for sauteeing. Increased the garlic to 2 cloves, curry to 3 tsp, and the salt to 3/4 tsp. I had no veggie broth (hence increasing the salt) so I just used water in place of it. As another reviewer suggested, I added nutmeg, cinnamon and also a bit of pepper to taste. It was very nice and super spicy--just the way we like it. No ordinary soup for us. My husband RAVED about this soup for three days until it was all gone. I have to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We really enjoyed this soup but I made some modifications. First I used a fresh acorn squash instead of canned pumpkin (just microwave steamed it and scooped it into soup), added extra curry and a little tumeric because we love flavor, and finally used a whole 15oz can of light cocount milk. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
completely delicious... I also added a little nutmeg and black pepper~ this is a great recipe... and I think the quality of the curry powder made it excellent~ (homemade garam masala) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I thought this was really good base recipe. I had leftover Cinderella pumpkin puree from making a pie and this was the perfect use for it. I merged this recipe with one for Curried Pumpkin Soup on Epicurious. I used the spices called for in the other recipe, scaled to this one: 1T minced fresh ginger, 2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp coriander, 1/16 tsp cardamom [which I realize doesn't really make this a curry]. I also used about double the red pepper flakes called for as I liked the heat, and added about a half cup more pumpkin. This combination had a definite, pleasant undercurrent of heat. My dining companion, who thought it was a bit too hot, said that next time he'd throw in some chicken and butter with the onion, reduce the broth, and add real cream instead of coconut cream. We really didn't get any discernable coconut flavor in our batch, though I thought it was perfectly creamy (I don't like creamed soups). Nice base recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I *love* this recipe! This is one soup I keep making as long as pumpkins are in season, and look forward to cooking when the next season approaches. I'll vary the spices (like adding ginger and tumeric, as was suggested in other reviews, and hot curry mix) and pepper each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is a very good soup. Great for fall dinners with a crusty bread. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
A little too much curry for me. I think if I had left it out, it would have brought out the pumpkin. I did use a fresh pumpkin, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzTJazz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Nice base recipe. It was a bit bland and needed to be doctored up. I added more ginger, two basil leaves, a tsp of Peruvian hot pepper sauce and garlic. As a personal preference I like to taste the crunch of the onion and I like how it looks in the soup. And I saved the step of pureeing the mixture and then don't have a blender to clean. A sprinkle of sea salt on the top just prior to serving enhances the flavor. We had this on Halloween and it was appropriately enjoyable for the occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States