Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
My husband (who doesn't like curry) loved this soup! Great balance of flavors. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jastroud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
good hot, tried to do it cold the next day and it wasn't my best decision. good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is a really simple soup. I am not a big soup maker, but I simply love curry and coconut, so anything that combines those - I'M IN! I only had a large can of pureed pumpkin so I SET THE SERVINGS TO 9 to use up all the pumpkin and didn't have coconut oil so subbed olive oil. After reading the reviews, I made the following changes: added extra pinch of red pepper flakes (1/4 tsp), added 1/4 tsp of ground cardimom, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, and ground pepper to taste. Once it came time for the blender I used my handblender right on the stove (I love this thing for creamy soups!) and tasted. It had good heat, but did find the coconut was a little hidden (maybe b/c no coconut oil?) and the pumpkin flavour was not really coming through so I ADDED 2 TSP SUGAR. (remember my batch was 1.5 times larger so only maybe start with 1/2 tsp if you want to try it) It made a huge difference! Love this recipe! I will make again and try adding some chicken and rice and cauliflower as some have suggested. Thanks for the recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I am a fan of using imersion blenders rather than a regular blender: blending is faster and there less risk of getting burned. The soup is pretty good. I love the consistency and the red peppers are perfect. I keep wondering if it would taste good topped with a little maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was a very good soup. I left out the red pepper flakes for the sake of the kids, and I used full fat coconut milk, fresh pumpkin and chicken broth because that was what I had. We were very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very tasty soup and so easy to make. I used red pepper flakes to kick up the spice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was phenomenal--a great addition to our christmas dinner. I only made a few changes out of necessity, though I'm not a fan of changing a recipe before trying. I made it in the crockpot by sauteing the onons and garlic first then adding all the ingredients. I omitted the coconut oil (didnt have any) and only used a small mixture of butter/EVOO for sauteeing. Increased the garlic to 2 cloves, curry to 3 tsp, and the salt to 3/4 tsp. I had no veggie broth (hence increasing the salt) so I just used water in place of it. As another reviewer suggested, I added nutmeg, cinnamon and also a bit of pepper to taste. It was very nice and super spicy--just the way we like it. No ordinary soup for us. My husband RAVED about this soup for three days until it was all gone. I have to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We really enjoyed this soup but I made some modifications. First I used a fresh acorn squash instead of canned pumpkin (just microwave steamed it and scooped it into soup), added extra curry and a little tumeric because we love flavor, and finally used a whole 15oz can of light cocount milk. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
completely delicious... I also added a little nutmeg and black pepper~ this is a great recipe... and I think the quality of the curry powder made it excellent~ (homemade garam masala) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I thought this was really good base recipe. I had leftover Cinderella pumpkin puree from making a pie and this was the perfect use for it. I merged this recipe with one for Curried Pumpkin Soup on Epicurious. I used the spices called for in the other recipe, scaled to this one: 1T minced fresh ginger, 2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp coriander, 1/16 tsp cardamom [which I realize doesn't really make this a curry]. I also used about double the red pepper flakes called for as I liked the heat, and added about a half cup more pumpkin. This combination had a definite, pleasant undercurrent of heat. My dining companion, who thought it was a bit too hot, said that next time he'd throw in some chicken and butter with the onion, reduce the broth, and add real cream instead of coconut cream. We really didn't get any discernable coconut flavor in our batch, though I thought it was perfectly creamy (I don't like creamed soups). Nice base recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States