Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Oh my. YUMMY! I did make a couple of changes, but this is wonderful! I added 1 yellow pepper, chopped, and used Garam Masala instead of the invididual spices..about a tsp and a half. And I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead of fresh, since my garden is a bit slow this year. I used chicken stock instead of water. This one will be a regular for me. UPDATE: I have made this so many times since I first reviewed...at least twice a month. It was the dish that convinced my carnivorous husband that going veg would be a possibility. For those who mentioned coconut powder, it is available at Asian markets, but if you cannot find, processing shredded coconut (unsweetened!) for a few seconds will give you a good substitute. It's best to me with french lentils as they have a really nice meaty texture, and I like over brown basmati rice, but my hubby likes the quinoa. It's even better left over when the flavors really meld. LOVE this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay L.
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I made this again recently and added a few tablespoons of fresh ginger. It really improved it. Is it lame that I gave my own recipe five stars? Ha ha ha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay L.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I love this recipe. I can't stop making it. I thought it needed a bit more crunch, so I tired a couple things and found that dry-roasted pistachios add the perfect texture to it. I serve it with bowls of cilantro, pistachios, and shredded coconut on the table so people can sprinkle on however much they want of each. It's a big hit. I also added the extra can of coconut milk, chopped fresh ginger, and a half teaspoon of ground cinnamon in addition to the stick. To give it some heat, add a few dashes of hot chili sauce--my favorite is Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce, the kind with the rooster on it that you might find at a Chinese or Thai restaurant. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe turned out delicious! I kept the seasonings pretty close to what the recipe called for, being inexperienced in flavor combinations such as this one. I did have to make some changes though: omitting coconut powder altogether (didnt have any), using brown sugar for the molasses (can't even taste it in there) and using canola oil to saute the onion (didn't have coconut oil either). The lentils needed more liquid during cooking, so I added an extra can of coconut milk slowly, as needed while cooking. Oh and I've never used quinoa & couldnt find that either, so I served it over couscous. It turned out to be an excellent vegan dish! To the reviewer who said this turned out flavorless: you must be doing something wrong, because it would be hard for it to be more full of flavor. Yum yum! P.S. The coconut & curry combo reminded me of the "Bang-Bang chicken & shrimp" dish from the Cheesecake Factory... I sort of like this one better because it's not as spicy and I think the flavors come together better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliemay7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I'm taking off a star because a tablespoon is WAAAY too much salt in this recipe. I had to add another can of coconut milk just to balance out how salty it tasted. I made this with a few modifications as well. I didn't have any coconut oil or powder, but it tasted fine just using coconut milk and vegetable oil (I'm all about keeping the flavor, but I like to keep things thrifty since I'm a college student). I also added a bit of brown sugar into this and used a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes (five tomatoes seemed like a bit too much, plus I like the flavor or canned tomatoes in curries..the flavor seems more concentrated and holds up well to all of the spices used in Indian cooking). I think next time I will add some cayenne pepper to spice this up. Also, if you don't have quinoa ( I couldn't find any) simple white rice works nicely and soaks up all the coconut liquid. It was quite good with these modifications and I didn't break the bank. Also, this is very filling...I could barely finish my first helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I use this site all the time and this is the first recipe that was so good I had to put in a review for the first time. My husband and I have been talking about it all week and we already want to make it again. I didn't use the coconut powder and it turned out perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was very easy to make. Needs longer cooking time and about 3 times as much water if using regular brown lentils. Because of the amounts of spices it tasted a little bitter and dry. I tried to solve that problem first by adding brown sugar which helped a little. Then lemon juice from half a lemon, better. Finally added most of a jar of tomato paste. That was the winning ingredient. Made it bright and yummy. After dinner we went for an hour long walk. Took a bite of the leftovers and they were way better. The flavors needed time to blend and the sauce thickened. Would be worth making ahead of time. Will definitely make again. Used one can of tomatoes next time may use two! Who knew I had already made this before. I guess I totally forgot. This time I liked it better. Here's what accounts for that: used the red lentils rather than brown, used really high quality curry powder. Topped with toasted unsweetened coconut, cilantro and toasted cashews. Still needed the tomato paste and would be better with lemon (I see I tried that last time). Funny I totally forgot this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was really delicious! I couldn't find coconut powder, so I left it out. The lentils took a lot longer to cook than 20 minutes... more like 40. But once it was done, my boyfriend and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We love this! My husband and I are not vegitarians - and we LOVE this! The soft curry flavor fills every recess of the mouth with yum! We had no idea what coconut powder was, so we just used unsweetened shredded coconut. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This was very delicious. I also did not have any coconut powder, but it was still fantastic. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States