Coconut-Curry Lentil Stew Served over Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This recipie is a modification of a traditional Ty curry calleda Masaman Curry. It was pretty good, but I made a few modifications. I used Adzuki Beans instead of Lentils which is a traditional Japaneese bean. I skipped the Coconut Powder, and added Eggplant and Yellow bell Peppers. I also changed the main spice to Garam Masila instead of Curry, added Mint, and more Cinnamon, as well as a touch of Lime juice. In addition I made the Quinoa with Vegetable Broth, and a bit of the broth from the curry. It turned out good, but a bit bland, and I think I used a little too much Cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I use this site all the time and this is the first recipe that was so good I had to put in a review for the first time. My husband and I have been talking about it all week and we already want to make it again. I didn't use the coconut powder and it turned out perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I added some Curry paste and some more curry powder.. Also added some Red and Orange peppers to bump up the Vegetable content. Excellent meal...Vegan to boot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was good - and I will definitely make again - but with some tweaks... We found the tablespoon of salt too much for the quinoa - so would definitely reduce that. Also, the lentils took much longer to cook - and required more liquid. But all in all a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
It tasted good a first, but by the end we felt bloated and a bit ill. There is too much spice in this, not hot, but just too much, especially the Coriander. Maybe a couple of teaspoons would have been ok. We all ended up feeling sick into the next day after eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was a great recipe. The family loved it, even my daughter who is very picky. I did change some things like I added some veggies and tofu. I did not have a cinnamon stick so I use grounded cinnamon. I used stewed tomatoes. We just ate it plain without Quinoa. This was great. This goes on the list to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We love this! My husband and I are not vegitarians - and we LOVE this! The soft curry flavor fills every recess of the mouth with yum! We had no idea what coconut powder was, so we just used unsweetened shredded coconut. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was really good. After reading reviews I served it over brown rice instead of quinoa. I also don't know what coconut powder is, but i added some unsweetened flaked coconut to it. A little cayenne pepper and more coconut milk made this dish complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
The lentils and the quinoa did not go well together, since both have a similar texture. Also, I thought this was very tastless. I did not use the coconut powder since I did not have any, but still, I thought this was pretty bad. A big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe turned out delicious! I kept the seasonings pretty close to what the recipe called for, being inexperienced in flavor combinations such as this one. I did have to make some changes though: omitting coconut powder altogether (didnt have any), using brown sugar for the molasses (can't even taste it in there) and using canola oil to saute the onion (didn't have coconut oil either). The lentils needed more liquid during cooking, so I added an extra can of coconut milk slowly, as needed while cooking. Oh and I've never used quinoa & couldnt find that either, so I served it over couscous. It turned out to be an excellent vegan dish! To the reviewer who said this turned out flavorless: you must be doing something wrong, because it would be hard for it to be more full of flavor. Yum yum! P.S. The coconut & curry combo reminded me of the "Bang-Bang chicken & shrimp" dish from the Cheesecake Factory... I sort of like this one better because it's not as spicy and I think the flavors come together better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliemay7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States